Thanksgiving


Having celebrated the past two Thanksgivings in Dublin and London, I was happy that I would be home this year…but not quite up to cooking a huge traditional turkey dinner.  Luckily American Thanksgiving always coincides with the kick-off of Edinburgh’s Christmas celebration.  So Scotty and I decided to get a group of friends together to watching the lighting of the Edinburgh Christmas tree and then make our way through the German Christmas markets before regrouping back at our place for dessert and mulled wine.  It was a lot of fun.  I was able to make a chocolate torte from a recipe I’d learned on my first catering job.  I also made some delicious pumpkin cookies and was aided and abbetted in putting together pumpkin pie and cherry crisp by Leah and Katie.  I didn’t end up taking very many pictures from the party but here’s some from the lighting of the Christmas tree – an annual gift from Norway in appreciation of Scotland’s aid during the Nazi occupation of their nation.  Of course, because we’re in Scotland, the lighting was accompanied by fireworks!

I know we both missed our families and would have loved to be with them.  Holidays here are bittersweet – especially Thanksgiving for me.  It’s usually my favorite holiday of the year but it’s just another day here which makes it difficult to get into the spirit.  Once the fireworks were shooting into the sky though I was ready to celebrate!  Scotty and I have so much to be grateful for and it’s good to have a day where we celebrate all those blessings.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. cevraini says:

    Great pictures! I look forward to more pictures and stories from Scotland!

Leave a Reply

