On the road again,


On December 28 we hit the road again.  This time it was a road trip to St. Louis to see some dear friends.  In St. Louis we are blessed with friendships that are deep, meaningful and a huge part of why we miss home.  And, again, I was so busy soaking up each moment that I failed to take very many pictures!

The drive to St. Louis was remarkably smooth – a miracle seeing that when we picked up the car in Buffalo the day before we saw multiple accidents resulting from a crazy blizzard.  By the morning the snow had cleared and we were off!

New Years Eve was spent at a party at our friends the Brouwers.  Seeing all the faces of people I hadn’t seen in over a year was so good for my soul.  The party had a great level of controlled chaos – kids underfoot, bonfire in the backyard, yummy food (hooray for Trader Joes!), great conversations.  I got some pics of the kids celebrating a special new year  at 9:30Pm (shhhh, we didn’t tell them it wasn’t officially the New Year – they just needed to get to bed).

A complete blur of activity...

I can tell you that the kids loved the little party horn things a lot more than the adults...

This is an enthusiastic celebrator!

At one point Scotty played an uproarious game of “Tickle Monster” with five children!  Yes, he’s a brave man.

Scotty playing "Tickle Monster"

I think the kids ended up getting the best of this tickle monster.

I think this photo is hilarious because you can see that Chloe is mid-air and Scotty is distracted and has no idea what's about to hit him.

Utter exhaustion.

Scotty and I enjoyed getting caught up with the Brouwers, the Reeves, Glen and Audrey, the McCracken brothers, the Leonards, and everyone else we were able to see.  I didn’t get pictures of our great hosts Glen and Audrey, which makes me sad because we had such a special time with them.  We were able to grab some quick shots with Luke and Julie before we hit the road:

Scotty and Luke

Julie and me.

While I really do like Edinburgh, it was hard to ignore how much like home St. Louis still feels.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Back in the States, St. Louis. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the road again,

  1. Pingback: Ahhhh…I’m working on it. « Highland Happenings

  2. Alyssa says:

    It was soooo good to see you guys!!!

  3. audrey says:

    It was so wonderful to spend time with you…loved the tickle monster pictures. I”m dying to have your lentil soup recipe…didn’t find it on your recipe blog tho…

Leave a Reply

