Snow in Edinburgh


We arrived back right after the worst snow storm the UK had seen in something like fifty years. December was very snowy in Scotland – highly unusual – and we missed all of it. We were just greeted with the remaining snowpack and it made for some gorgeous city scenes.

Our first evening back we walked around town and took some photos before meeting up with friends at the Wash for some hot drinks. It was colder than I’ve ever felt it here, but very beautiful.

Belford Road

No scraping or salting at all on our street or sidewalks.

The council is nearly bankrupt so the Christmas tree pick-up is very behind...

These boxwoods always look amazing - especially with a layer of snow on them.

Dean Bridge - again, no shoveling, scraping, or salting.

Dean Village

Edinburgh Castle

Another angle.

Prince's Street Gardens

Looking up toward New College

The Gardens and New College

The Museums and New College

Scotty was the photographer this night – I was so jet lagged I couldn’t focus my brain let alone a camera!  I think he got some amazing shots.  Isn’t Edinburgh beautiful in the snow?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow in Edinburgh

  1. Talene says:

    Hi Rebecca,
    How are you? Mum and I are sitting in the kitchen (because we have a snow day) and reminiscing about the lovely visit we had with you last august. It doesn’t seem very long ago we were sitting at your dining room table! We miss you both and are hoping to make a trip to St A’s again over march. We’d love to see you if you are around. I am writing because I discovered this amazing food blog which I think you will absolutely love. It’s very simple and sylish and the food reminds me of you. Check it out: http://achowlife.blogspot.com/

    hope you are enjoying snowy edinburgh!
    sending lots of love your way from the bilazarians,
    talene

  2. Solomon says:

    Scott! These are beautiful pictures…way to capture the cold and enchanting scenes of Edinburgh!

Leave a Reply

