Birthday week continued…


Following my wonderful birthday party and surprise I got to hang out with my family for the next few days.  My mom and dad were here from Saturday through Wednesday and Sol stayed until the following Saturday.  We had a great time touring around Edinburgh and taking in the Botanical Gardens, afternoon tea at The Howard and nachos at the Dome.  Such a sweet time together.  My actual birthday was Monday and it just so happens that I was born on Robbert Burn’s birthday so we celebrated with a small party and haggis, ‘neeps & tatties, sticky-toffee pudding – the traditional offerings of a Burn’s day feast.

Burn's Night Supper - and my little b-day party.

Mom's first time trying haggis!

Me and Mom outside I. J. Mellis - the best cheesemonger in Edinburgh!

At the land sculpture outside the Modern Art Museum

Pop and Solomon checking out the shrubbery at the Bonanics! These two know their plants.

My wonderful parents. Somehow no matter where they visit me we always end up in a garden. In St. Louis we always made time to see the Botanical Gardens there, in Portland it was the Japanese Garden, in Sandwich there was Plymouth Plantation...

Gorgeous flower in the Botanical Gardens.

It was such a sweet and special time with my parents.  When I had said goodbye to them in Mexico I thought it would be months before we saw each other.  Of course, they knew all along, but I was sure that there would be a long stretch of time before I would see their faces again.  I loved every minute of having them there and it was so fitting that the people who have loved me the most for the past thirty years would be there to celebrate my new decade.  I love you Mom and Pop!  Thank you for making this so special!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday week continued…

  1. POP says:

    It was a delicious time of being together,
    enjoying conversation, great meals, beautiful walks, your city, your friends,
    your life. Thank you for your kind and generous hospitality and warm hearts.

  2. POP says:

    I forgot to mention ‘sticky-toffee pudding’
    Scotty you are right…out of this world…someone has got to get Trader Joe’s
    to carry that!

Leave a Reply

