Italy!!!


Although I’d been celebrating my birthday for an entire week and felt completely satisfied, throughly feted,  happy and well-loved, we had made plans months ago to take a quick trip to Italy.  I’d managed to get tickets for ₤40.00 TOTAL and it was a deal we just couldn’t pass up. As the tickets had been purchased from Ryan Air we knew we’d have a challenging flight.  There is something about flying that darn airline that makes you feel less than human;  baggage limits, extra fees, the constant hawking of all sorts of junk throughout the flight. Almost every time we fly Ryan we swear that we will “never do it again!” But those £5.00 fares just keep sucking us in. On our flight to Pisa we followed the guidelines and each packed one bag. There is a very strict limit of one carry-on bag per passenger and this means only ONE bag – no personal item, no additional purse, nada. What we didn’t realize was the 10 kg limit per bag. My bag weighed 14 kgs. Scotty’s weighed 9.  Resigning ourselves to having to pay the £35.00 checked bag fee, I started pulling things out of my bag and putting them in a smaller carry-on – I took out a book, my wallet, and our camera.  Frustrated beyond belief, I tossed the bag on the belt and the agent said, “Well now it’s OK. Just put your things in your husband’s bag.” So I had removed 4 kgs from my bag and was somehow going to add them to Scotty’s 9 kg bag.  Our agent was obviously math-challenged. Oh well! We took her at her word and walked off with our bags – happy that we hadn’t just been forced to double the cost of our tickets.

We arrived at Pisa in the evening and therefore weren’t able to much sightseeing, but we did walk along the river and get our bearings before grabbing some dinner and going to bed – super excited to be in one of our favorite countries and eager to get sightseeing in the morning.

The Arno at night - so romantic.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Italy, Pisa, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Italy!!!

  1. Solomon says:

    Soo glad you guys discovered a different side of Pisa. I guess when you live in Firenze, Pisa doesn’t really measure up, so you are a bit biased against it. But every city has something to offer if you look hard enough!

  2. Solomon says:

    Oh yeah, Ryan Air definitely makes you feel like a crated animal. What drove me crazy was how they always keep those glaring lights on and hawked stupid crap at you the whole flight. They practically are selling stuff during takeoff.

  3. POP says:

    Hey for a 5# flight I’ll put up with anything!;-) Especially to Italy…anywhere in Italy!

Leave a Reply

