Siena


Classic Italian scene – Vespa and Pizzaria!

Siena is gorgeous! A tightly packed walled city one gets the feeling while wandering the streets that time has stood still here.  The streets are narrow, they wind surreptitiously shaded by the tall buildings on each side.  The piazzas are buzzing with activity – cafes in sunshine hosting couples and friends drinking warm coffees and cappuccinos.  The narrow stairways leading from one street level to another are dark and dimly lit and stand in contrast to the cheerful warm clay buildings.  As a friend stated, it’s a place to be savored.  Here’s some of our favorite scenes from the city:

Produce displayed outside a small shop.

Piazza del Campo

This is where the famous horserace is held each year!
Another view of the Campo.

The Duomo

I thought this stairway up the side of the Duomo was remarkable.

Gorgeous marble detail.

Duomo

The Duomo and just one of many Romulus and Remus feeding on the she-wolf statues.

Front of the Duomo - quite gorgeous.

The Panorama - where we were treated to some amazing views of Siena and the surrounding countryside.

View from the Panorama.

Scotty making his way along the top of the Panorama.

Tuscany is so gorgeous!

The clay roofs are so tightly packed and have been here for centuries. I love that!

Another view of the city roofs.

Basilica of San Domenico. We visited it and saw the head and finger of St. Catherine of Siena. To be completely honest, it was really creepy. Really, really creepy.

I loved the way the light came down through these arches.

I think I may be in the middle of falling over here...

The balcony at St. Catherine's home.

View of the Duomo from the Fortress.

Garden outside the Fortress.

Inside the Fortress.

Feeling a bit sleepy.

Another gorgeous knocker.

The Campo in the afternoon sunlight.

We had a great time exploring this amazing little city.  It’s surrounded by a city wall and our hotel was outside of that so each morning we walked through two enormous stone gates.  It’s a city that makes it easy to imagine what life was like during Medieval times.  We climbed the Panorama shown above and loved the views.  Wandered over to the Basilica and were completely creeped out by St. Catherine’s head.  Walked around the fortress and simply soaked in the feeling of Siena.  During the day it’s remarkable and at night it’s absolutely enchanting.  I would love to return and spend a week here when it is warmer.

I think I can talk Scotty into it!

He looks pretty content here.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Italy, Siena, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Siena

  1. Solomon says:

    Isn’t Sienna great? I really liked their Duomo with all the black and white stripe marble. Did you get a chance to go inside because I seem to remember that there were some really intricate and famous inlaid marble pieces on the floor of the church. You are lucky you saw the duomo without scaffolding all over the front like when I was there!

  2. Josh says:

    There is something so cool about Italy in the wintertime. Getting all bundled up to go sightseeing and then warming yourself with an 8 euro hot “shawcolate” is so romantic, well at least to me it is. I wonder where I got that from… Pop? No…
    I love the night pictures… Gorgeous!!

    • Rebecca says:

      I completely agree! The reason that the hot chocolate costs 8 euro is due to the fact that they know we’re all about the experience. It’s not just a hot chocolate – it’s a half hour of soaking in the surroundings while slowly sipping and chatting. We’re both such suckers for those sorts of moments. And we I think we get to blame both parents. We didn’t have a chance! And I’m grateful for that.

  3. darthbergen says:

    I have fallen in love with your blog. Here’s why: I chaperoned a student tour group to Siena last spring and had no concept of Siena before we got there. It is such an amazing city that when I got home from a ten day whirlwind tour of Italy and Spain all I could talk about was Siena. You have brought all of those wonderful feelings to the surface again.

    By the way, did you have “fritelle” while you were in the Campo? That capped off an amazing tour with the most amazing taste.

    • Rebecca says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment and for sharing your Siena experience. It really is a magical place and one that I’ll be thinking of for a long time. I’m glad you had such a special time there. And no, I didn’t have a fritelle – something to look forward to on a return trip. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

