Signs of Spring


On Friday Scotty and I begin the process of moving to our new flat!  We found a new flat last Friday and pick up the keys tomorrow.  I will be posting pictures once we’re a bit more settled.  In the midst of all the packing I’ve been working a lot of hours at my job and promise to tell you more about that in a little while.  On Sunday our friends moved in with us for a few days because their flat got flooded!  The ceiling fell in and it was a complete disaster.  They’ve been troopers through it all and we had a good time while they were here – it was like camp but with Baileys!

With everything going on blogging has fallen behind (again!) but I wanted to share a few snaps I took last Sunday.  Scotty and I took a walk down to Stockbridge and I kept stopping because despite the chill in the air there are signs of spring!  Yes, we’re still wearing our big heavy wool coats and I’m still happy for the SmartWool socks I put on nearly every day, but the sun has been shining more and the trees are just starting to bud.  I love these first signs that change is in the air.  It’s time to pull out the allegra and think of a time when I can leave my coats at home!

On another note I am now the proud owner of glasses.  Yes, eyeglasses.  I picked them up at the optometrists yesterday and cannot believe how crisp and bright everything is!!!  And it’s really nice to not squint.  Reading signs from a distance is no longer a struggle and streets no longer end in a distant blur.  I’m not really impressed with the size of my pores but am really enjoying a clearer view of the world around me.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, photography, Thoughts, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. Karin says:

    You crack me up — camp, with Baileys, and the size of your pores. Beautiful writing!

  2. Katie says:

    great shots! so glad the glasses worked out!!!

  3. Ashli says:

    You’re a lifesaver, a fabulous photographer, the bestest friend, and a hoot!!! See you soon!!!

  4. audrey says:

    loved the budding pix…yum! especially the white barked branch with deep blue/purple buds.
    what a stove you will be leaving. amazing. excited to see pix of the new flat!

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    I love your beautiful, colorful, intriguing front step garden!

Leave a Reply

