Scenes from home…


Thank you to all who have asked for pics of our new flat and then been forced to wait patiently.  I had considered holding the pictures ransom in exchange for pics of your homes but decided that would just be unnecessary.  Of course, I would love to see pictures of the places in your homes that make you smile…  Anyway, here’s some of the corners of the new flat that I really like.  We still have a few boxes that are awaiting unpacking and I’m still find myself racking my brain to remember where certain things have been stowed but all-in-all we’ve settled in nicely.  Last night we had a drinks with our neighbor from the ground floor and he told us a bit of history about the neighborhood.  Our building was built in the 19th century as a single family home!  In the 1950s many of these stately homes were converted into flats and that’s when ours became what it is today.  Apparently the whole area used to be the Walker family estate.  The Walkers were successful merchants who funded the building of St. Mary’s Cathedral.  On Sundays the bells from St. Mary’s are gorgeous!

The Living Room

Scotty stuck some of our favorite books up on the little mantle shelves.

Another view.

Fresh flowers do wonders for making a place feel cheerful and homey. And I really like my new Union Jack pillow!

I love the big windows and our balcony.

Have you ever seen an abacus lamp before????

My favorite thing about the whole place - the 15 foot ceilings and amazing crown moulding!

Yay for yellow flowers.

The little dog I bought in Paris has found his home on the mantle.

So that’s the intro.  I will post more pictures when the remaining boxes are unpacked and I’ve taken the time to put away the laundry that’s in the bedrooms.  As a quick update – we now have a possible “go-live” date for our internet…20 April.  Yep, that’s two weeks away.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Design, Edinburgh, flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scenes from home…

  1. Karin says:

    I love your flat!!!!! You take such interesting photos. And i’m glad you didn’t hold these photos ransom.

  2. Rea Berg says:

    So wonderful to see where you landed. It looks quite literary, elegant, and sophisticated! Just like you! Can’t wait to
    come visit. Hey, can we use one of your mantle photos on the new BFB website? OK, we’re leaving our Ashland hotel for baby Ashton’s house!
    Wish you were here!
    Love, Mom

  3. I can personally attest to the fact that this new flat is beautiful, made only more beautiful by all of your special touches.

    Also, can I just say….was that building really one family’s home??? That’s amazing. You could have gotten lost in that house.

  4. audrey says:

    wow. thanks for the pictures. the crown moulding is intricate…and I love the mantel Scotty embellished too. cute doggy from paris!

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the pics! I love the book cases and the crown moulding! The yellow tulips are a nice touch. Can’t wait to see more!

  6. POP says:

    Congrats…….I’ll take the balcony!
    POP

  7. Pingback: Flowers « Highland Happenings

Leave a Reply

