Flowers


Since Spring is springing I have decided to try and always have fresh flowers in our flat.  It’s such a simple and inexpensive way to breath life into a home.  As Scotty and I have lived in rented flats since we were married we’ve been limited in making improvements and decorating.  Our new flat was equipped with a bowl-like vase that I think is perfect for a handful of tulips.  I’ve already posted pictures of the yellow tulips and this past week I had some gorgeous pink ones.  Here’s what they look like:

One thing I love about having flowers – beyond the obvious pop of color and cheerfulness – is watching how they change throughout the day.  The flowers literally follow the sunshine and the bouquets look completely different by the end of the day as each flower seeks out his share of daylight.

Due to the volcano shutting down airspace last week the flowers currently in the stores look a bit beat up.  80% of fresh flowers in Europe are from Kenya and the shut down has some devastating consequences for the produce and flower industries.  Hopefully now that the skies have reopened those losses will be mitigated.  In the mean time I was able to find some pretty white tulips and some British daffodils.  Once they’ve opened up I’ll take some pictures of this weeks flowers.  My all-time favorite flowers are peonies and thanks to heroic efforts on the part of my mom I was able to have hundreds of gorgeous pink and white peonies for my wedding.  It was amazing! What’s your favorite flower?  I would love to see pictures of your gardens or bouquets you have around your homes.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowers

  1. dancingbeastie says:

    I adore peonies too. How could you not? How wonderful to have them at your wedding.

    Coincidentally, my other favourite floweres are tulips. I love the way they start all stiff and prim and upright, and then become all blowzy and voluptuous as they age. I’m sure there’s a good lesson there…

  2. audrey says:

    love your adoring flowers. when I was a little girl, I told myself that I would always have fresh flowers in my house “when I grew up”. Even though I never plan on growing up, I do enjoy fresh flowers whenever I can.
    last night I picked our first bouquet of peonies and remembered meeting your engagement party in the demun lawn…
    love peonies…love you!

Leave a Reply

