Thoughts on my job or doing jobs native people don’t want to plus the Walter Scott Monument


Scotty and I have been feeling a bit stir-crazy since our Italy trip was cancelled.  Unfortunately this coincided with my work schedule becoming a bit more hectic and a foot injury that prevents me from being my usual active self.  This has resulted in a few quiet weekends – weekends that found me icing my foot and Scotty trying to think of things to do that didn’t require lots of walking.  In our city there just aren’t that many things to do that fit that description but after three weeks of putting all my energy into work and finding myself spent when the weekend rolled around I had had enough.  Especially after I had a revelation at work on Friday.  As a foreigner living in Britain I have first hand experience of the difficulty of finding work.  While I was mopping the floor at work and looking at my co-workers from Slovakia, France, Spain, and Poland it suddenly hit me.  We were all “doing jobs British people didn’t want to do.”  Now I know that we aren’t picking tomatoes in burning hot temperatures like the Hispanic immigrants in America but I do have a lot more sympathy for the people who come to America and do those jobs.  As in America it’s mostly foreigners here in Britain that keep your coffee cups filled, your floors clean, your food shelved, and your tables bussed.  My coworkers are all university educated, fluent in at least two languages, and experienced world travelers but the job market is such that we’re all reheating food and serving soup to the British citizens who keep the banks running…more or less.  Anyway.  On Saturday I had had enough of sedentary weekends – I popped some tylenol and we decided to climb the Walter Scott Monument.  We’d been wanting to do this for a while and Saturday was sunny (not warm but sunny and we’ve learned to take what you get here) and the sky was dramatic.  The lighting was perfect – all the greens in the gardens were vibrant – the flowers glowing – the sky bright.  Spectacular!

287 steps to the top!

But what amazing views! New College, the Mound, the Castle - this really is an amazing city.

View to the west down Princes Street

North West - looking out to the Firth

Arthur's Seat

Arthur's Seat

Princes Street

East towards Carlton Hill

The Rail Station and Royal Bank of Scotland building

My Scotty...

HAD to take a picture of this for my brother...Hey brother!

Lots of these...At the top of the stairwell the passage was extremely dark and narrow. The ceiling was low and you got the feeling of being in a tight little tunnel - and the you stepped out into the sunshine and wind. It made for a pretty dramatic contrast.

It's really hard to believe that this monument was originally a bright creamy white.

Detail

Scott Monument done! And very much worth doing.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thoughts on my job or doing jobs native people don’t want to plus the Walter Scott Monument

  1. Karin says:

    interesting observation on the job front……

    i can’t believe you chose to CLIMB A MONUMENT on your sore foot. Impressive. Maybe you’ll break a leg and make it to the top of Everest?

    And speaking of Solomon (from your pics)……I can’t remember if I told you this or not. I think he was my friend’s roommate for a while?!? Or maybe still is?? His name is Nate.

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the job situation in Scotland. I agree with you there.

    Your pictures were gorgeous. My favorite view’s were Arthur’s Seat and the Princess Street Gardens. You do such a tremendous job with your camera!

  3. Hilary says:

    Love the pictures!! Beautiful! Looks like spring is well on its way. Love you guys!

  4. POP says:

    Cool views of your beautiful city!
    Interesting view from the ‘other side’ of the employment
    picture too. Thanks for sharing your “it hit me” moment.
    Want to become an official BFB blogger? I think we have
    an opening.

  5. POP says:

    I meant to say BFB Facebooker.

  6. audrey says:

    I’m glad you popped the tylenol. great pix of your city and what a monument. Your Scotty looked great too!
    I appreciate your sentiments on working, what a different perspective to ponder. Of course, I’m not the one mopping floors and reheating lunches, or running away from the non-boyfriend!

Leave a Reply

