Five Years!


Five years ago I was able to marry my best friend!  It was a perfect day and we were lovingly surrounded by our family and closest friends as they stood with us to share in the celebration of two lives becoming one.

Me and my family before the wedding.

Scotty with his family.

Bridesmaids during the ceremony.

The kiss!

Married!

The wedding party.

First dance.

Pop and I laughing during the Father Daughter Dance.

Scotty dancing with his mom.

My sister Tot dancing with the ring bearer.

Katie enjoying some wedding cake.

Flower girls and ring bearer at the bar!

The gorgeous tent where the dinner reception was held - thanks to Solomon envisioned it and made it happen along with my mom, dad, Hilary, Jimmy, Grace, Josh, and a lot of other people!

It was a perfect day!  I have such a difficult time expressing all the feelings I had – the excitement of getting married to the man who was and remains my best friend, the feelings of love from everyone there, the support of our wonderful families, the fun of seeing our guests dancing past midnight.  It was amazing.  And now, five years later, I’m still grateful to be married to Scotty.  Our marriage and love for one another has grown.  We’ve weathered a few storms, enjoyed some adventures, shared the mundane details of life, learned that marriage is beautiful and complex, and loved one another well.  Happy anniversary Scotty – here’s to many many more!

All photos by Dalia Shilas, © 2005, all rights reserved.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Five Years!

  1. Bethy J says:

    Happy Anniversary you two! Time flies – its hard to believe 5 years! Thinking of you both and celebrating your half decade together:) Kevin and I send our love…

  2. ashley says:

    congrats, becca! your wedding was beautiful!

  3. Hilary says:

    Congrats Becca! I can’t believe it has been five years! You both have done a lot since that day. We love you and are so happy that you are celebrating this happy occasion. Love,

    Hilary, Jimmy and Ashton

  4. Paul says:

    what lovely wedding photos!

    thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Sloane says:

    Congratulations Scotty and Becca! Looking at those pictures brings back so many good memories of that weekend and makes me miss you guys even more! I’m proud to have been there with you and can’t believe its already been 5 years. Wow!

  6. Josh says:

    Congratulations you two!!! What an amazing day it was, it will forever remain as one of the best ever. I am very proud of both of you and pray the Lord gives you many many more. Wish we could all be there to celebrate with you!
    Love,
    Josh
    p.s. I will never forget the turtles!

  7. Scotty says:

    How great it is to look back on these wedding photos! I love you, Bec, with all my heart. I look forward to the next five years and many more after that! Thank you for being so generous, loving, caring, forgiving, supportive and amazing wife!

  8. Solomon says:

    Wow, looking at those pictures brings so many good feelings. That day is definitely at the top of my list as far as being one of my favorite days so far. You both looked amazing that day, especially you Becca. I love you both so much. Such an awesome time!

  9. POP says:

    A wise person once said, “You don’t marry someone you can live with, you marry the person who you cannot live without.” I like that and I see it in Scotty and Becca.
    Congratulations on your fifth year and may you be blessed
    with many more!

  10. Bethy Manor says:

    Scotty and Becca,

    Thanks for sharing your lives with us! These photos are amazing and bring back so many wonderful memories. We pray for you in your joys and we pray for you in your sorrows and we pray for you all the in between times…

  11. Auntie Daryl says:

    Becca, You were the most beautiful bride ever and Scotty, what a doll! I am touched by your blog and the pictures. What an amazing setting your wedding was, we are still so glad we could be there. Happy 5 years to both of you and God Bless! Auntie D

Leave a Reply

