Happy Independence Day!


Happy 4th of July

As Scotty and I prepare to celebrate one of my favorite holidays, I realized that since we’ve been married we’ve spent more 4ths outside our country than in it.  Our first, 2005, was spent in Spain and Gibraltar, where the British border agent wryly wished us a “Happy Independence Day.”  2008 we were here in Edinburgh.  Last year was in Paris and this year we’ll be here in Edinburgh.  I love the 4th of July with its requisite parades, fireworks, cookouts, and family gatherings.  We’re going to try and host a classic American cookout but the weather forecast is not looking promising.  I wish each of my American readers a very happy day!  Light off a firework for your expat friends.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Back in the States, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Independence Day!

  1. Patty Marshall says:

    I live vicariously through people who have much more exciting lives such as yourselves…..These holidays that are strictly American would be the hardest to be away– mainly because no one understands why they are important to us. I remember a July 4th a few years ago when my brother’s French Au Pare was rather rude about our “silly holiday” and I was somewhat put off…knowing that it IS important to us even though she would never understand the American patriotism. Hope you all have a great time celebrating with other expats and a great cookout – we may even get some rain here ourselves to make you feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

