British Open and Expat Observations


Scotty’s weekend started early this week with a day-trip to St. Andrews to watch the British Open.  Figuring it’s a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see the British Open at the home of golf, Ashli and I both bought tickets for our husbands whose birthdays were both this past week.  So early early on Friday, Scotty and Matthew headed off to watch the best players in the world compete in terrible conditions.

The Royal and Ancient

While both guys enjoyed it, the weather was not conducive to standing outside for 14 hours but the guys persevered through (fueled by about a gallon of hot coffee each) and arrived home cold and exhausted.  But with some good stories.

While the guys were away, I had to work but met up with Ashli to get dinner at one of our favorites, Chez Jules, an adorable little French bistro that serves amazing, well-priced food.  I mean where else can you split a lobster with someone for the price of a burger?  Seriously? We met a fascinating American couple who have been living here just a couple months longer than we have and got some fun travel and cooking tips from them.  Lately I have really been enjoying Edinburgh and all it has to offer and exchanges like this one just reinforce the fact that I love living in a city with an international population.  Although the couple we met were fellow Americans there is a shared bond between expats that instantly opens doors of conversation.  As these two were complete foodies, they were able to give Ashli and I tips on where to get the freshest seafood, how to grow herbs on a balcony, what restaurants are worth the visit.  A similar exchange often happens at work where my seven co-workers are from seven different countries.  All of us share the basic experience of being people who have left our homes to try to make new homes in a foreign and strange place.  And while the foreign aspect of it is the most daunting and frustrating (every expat here has asked themselves a million times “why can’t things just work like they do back home?”) it is also the most exciting, educating, exhilarating, and mind-opening.

Saturday was spent working on a freelance project while Scotty recovered from being pounded by the elements.  We saw Inception, which is crazy and completely screws with your mind.  It’s really clever, well-done, and full of action.  Although there are more than enough shoot ’em up scenes, it’s also remarkably thoughtful.  Definitely one to see in the theaters as a lot would be lost on the small screen.  A lot.

Sunday I met up with some friends at the adorable AnTEAques.  An antique store that is also a tea house, this place is like wading through your grandmother’s attic to play dress-up and have a tea party.  Stuffed to the gills with old furniture, antique tea services, silver platters, clothing and all sorts of other fun-to-look-at things, you literally sit on the merchandise while you enjoy tea served in teacups that you can then purchase.  How clever.  The atmosphere is so quaint, the staff completely adorable, and the tea amazing.  They offer 65 (count ’em) different blends of tea and all of us loved what we were served.

See anything you want to buy? I'm sure it's available.

I was warned that someone may buy the chair right out from under me (as that has happened before) but no one did and we enjoyed a few leisurely hours chatting about all sorts of topics.  I think there is something about sitting on great antiques, sipping tea from ancient china that elevates conversation.  Or is that just me being transported back to those tea parties of my youth where my Grandma Baker taught me how to swallow silently and keep my napkin folded on my lap?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Food, Life in Edinburgh, People in Edinburgh, Restaurants, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to British Open and Expat Observations

  1. Rea says:

    Oh, Bec–wish I could have joined you at AnTEAques. So fun and clever. I love how reading your blog is always a trip to somewhere new, interesting, and inspiring. People living with passion is what makes the world go round, and YOU are one of them. And just so happens, one of my favorite! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

