Helsinki, Day 2



In the morning we set off to go visit the churches we had only seen from the outside the evening before.  The first was a Lutheran Protestant church and the inside was gorgeous.

The interior of this church stood in contrast to the inside of the Orthodox church that was our next stop.

After our church tours I wanted to go back down to the waterfront to check out the daily market.  Whoohoo!  I haven’t taken food pictures in a while and this was just what I needed to renew my interest.  This market is set up EVERY.SINGLE.DAY!  How much fun would it be to be able to go grocery shopping here?  I feel like I would always be cooking delicious, seasonal meals if I had this to inspire me on a daily basis.

Next to the outdoor market is a building that is a permanent market structure stocked with all sorts of tasty looking produce.

Inside you can find everything from more fresh veggies to gorgeous seafood and reindeer products!

As I'm posting this picture all I want is a big tub of that octopus salad! Who is with me?

I did sample the caviar. MmmmMmmm.

We next wandered through town and Helsinki’s a beautiful place: open garden space, gorgeous architecture, outdoor cafes, smiling people.  Scotty made the remark that it seemed like people really liked living here.  Well he was right – upon returning to Edinburgh, I was not surprised to see that Finland was rated the best country in which to live…

The city is almost entirely paved in cobblestone - even the crosswalks are artfully cobbled.

After walking around for a while we decided to take a ferry over to a nearby island.  This ferry is part of the public transport system – which was great as it meant our day-passes worked and we could just hop on – how cool is that?  Our little trip to the island was my favorite part of our time in Helsinki.  The weather was perfect, sunshine brilliant, and the scenery gorgeous.  That was a lot of superlatives, huh?

I want to spend a week living on that island!

The island, Suomenlinna, used to be used as a fortress.  There are still military barracks there and sailors are a common sight.  While people still live on the island, it is mostly a destination for picnickers.  It’s fun to wander around the old military installations but mostly it’s just really picturesque.

Entrance to the fortress. Pink isn't a color I usually associate with military might but here it was somehow fitting.

This is a really old ship yard that is still functioning and specializes in restoring antique boats!

Once we walked around the island we headed to a point where were could look back at Helsinki. Once we made it there we didn't spend much time looking at the skyline as the biggest yacht I've ever seen was sitting in the way. That thing is a beast!

Seriously? It has a helipad...as in space for a helicopter to land.

After gawking for a bit, we moved on.  I did end up looking the yacht up and from my bit of wikipedia research I think it’s the 16th longest yacht in the world and is owned by the Russian billionaire who also owns the world’s largest yacht.  He has a bit of a collecting thing going on.

Long shadows.

Perfect afternoon for a sail.

As the setting was just so perfect we found a place to sit and watch the sailboat pass.  The waterways were busy as families took advantage of one of the few perfect summer days.

Sadly we hadn’t packed our own picnic or I’m pretty sure we would have spent the whole evening out there, so it was back to the ferry.

One of the natives - apparently clothing is optional on this beach!

One of the coolest wooden sailboats I've ever seen.

And that’s pretty much it.  We did a lot more in town but those were the highlights.  At this point we were pretty ready to head home and were super happy that our flight home was aboard a BA flight.  After flying Ryan Air, it was such a treat to sit through a flight where there wasn’t a constant sales pitch and a bugle didn’t announce each on-time arrival.  The whole bugle thing really annoys me.  It’s like the airline has an inferiority complex (fair enough) and is the kid in preschool who has to announce every single thing he does correctly.  “Look we did our job and got you here on time!”  Grrr.  Anyway, it was quite the trip and it did not disappoint.  Each place we visited was unique and exciting and now I’m ready to stay home for a little while.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Finland, Food, Helsinki, photography, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Helsinki, Day 2

  1. POP says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Pingback: Whew! « Highland Happenings

  3. Hilary says:

    Thats it, I’m moving to Helsinki!! That place is amazing!! That market is incredible. I want to live there!

  4. Solomon says:

    I really can’t believe how much these pictures look like Cape Cod. I really need to visit now, it’s beautiful.

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    Lovely…… My very favorite picture is “long shadows”.

  6. tot says:

    I love these picture, but i LOVE YOU MORE!!!!!

Leave a Reply

