Breaking the silence…


You know you’re behind in blogging when your dad posts the following little ditty on your last post:

Taking a break from posting?
I miss you and it.
Tired of hosting?
I’m in a fit.

So, here goes nothing.  We’ve just been busy and life has been really good.  The Festival has finished up and I had a great time at the events I attended.  The International Book Festival is by far my favorite.  We did attend the Tattoo for the first time!  It was great – very entertaining.  Here’s some pics from the performance:

Packed house!

I think these were the British Gendarmes...

Lots of kilts...

I must say that after living in Scotland for three years, I was a bit apprehensive about hearing dozens of bagpipes at once. But I must say that bagpipes sound so much better when there are a lot of them.

Tribute to the St. Andrew's Cross

A pipe band from Poland.

This is three five-year-olds on a mini motorcycle. Yes, the performance wasn't limited to pipe and drum bands, there were motorcycle trick riders.

I thought it was really cool that we were there on the night that the band from the Citadel performed.

Scottish dancing.

The military band from Turkey was impressive - they even brought horses!

And then there was a gymnastics display. These are members of the British military and this was supposed to demonstrate their physical prowess. I'll let you be the judge of if this goal was accomplished.

Just so you know, this went on for about 10 minutes…

Watching the bands perform in front of the castle is pretty impressive!

After that very Scottish event we literally ran to the Book Festival to hear a very American writer, Anthony Bourdain.  We literally made it as the doors were closing, which was lucky because there is a strictly enforced “no late-comers” policy.  Due to our tardiness we were able to sit in the front row and enjoyed a fun Q&A session with the brash Bourdain.  It was a great way to wrap up the Festival season and we’ve spent the following weeks getting back into the swing of regular life.  Scotty’s been working away and I’ve been keeping myself busy with several jobs and projects.

Things at New College are starting back up and that’s always fun.  It’s fun to meet all the new students and feel the change in the air.  It makes me want to go out and buy a “back-to-school” wardrobe and stock up on stationery and notebooks.  Isn’t there just something about this time of year that is so great?  While I bemoan the quickly cooling weather and shortening days, I do love Autumn.  We’re also gearing up for several weeks of having guests, which is always fun.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Entertainment, Life in Edinburgh, People in Edinburgh and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Breaking the silence…

  1. audrey says:

    wow…looks interesting and formal. loved hearing the bagpipes. I was missing you, too, along with Russ!

  2. realoves says:

    Wow–leave it to the Scots to bring so many divergent cultures and skills together! I give them the international networking award! I do think they might want to nix the Scottish military’s gymnastic skills demo. It was like seeing a small gymnastic school recital! Yikes. I loved your expressions though–that was worth it! So fun to catch up again! Love you!

  3. Uncle CB says:

    Your “gymnastics video” is just hilarious!
    I didn’t anticipate the ending.

    My memory gets shorter all the time, so please
    tell us what “Tattoo” means again?

    Thanks for attending and photographing this famous
    event.

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Uncle Chris – yes the video is hilarious. Here’s what wikipedia says about the origin of the word:
      “The process was known as doe den tap toe (old-Dutch for “turn off the tap”), an instruction to innkeepers to stop serving beer and send the soldiers home for the night. The drummers continued to play until the curfew at 22:00 hrs (10:00PM). Tattoo, earlier tap-too resp. taptoo, is an alteration of the Dutch word taptoe which has the same meaning.”
      Interesting, huh?
      Looking forward to seeing you in a few months!

  4. Hilary says:

    My, what fine tumblers they are…

    haha, that was ridiculous. I think I could do those moves, even while pregnant:) Love you both!

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    I love the Tattoo! The night we went it was POURING down rain, but the entire show with the lights on the castle and every bagpiper piped to their hearts content. What a thrilling night it was! I’m so glad that you two finally experienced it. (gymnasts included).

  6. Solomon says:

    Oh wow, the “gymnastics” video was priceless. I love your’s and Scotty’s expressions too….sooo very underwhelmed. I was laughing out loud just watching it. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

