This crazy country…


So I’ve been here for a solid three years and I’m pretty sure that no matter how long I live here I will never get used to the weather.  I know that you’re all probably sick of hearing about it but it’s such a part of our every-day  experience it’s easy to become obsessed.  When you live in a city without a car and you walk everywhere meteorology becomes a lot more than a five minute consideration each morning before you get dressed. While I have lived in various climates, I’ve never experienced weather so changing and unpredictable.  In California, we had four distinct seasons but they were pretty reliably, well…seasonal.  It was hot in the summer, cool in autumn, cold in winter, and warm in spring.  This trend continued in Massachusetts with warm and humid summers, spectacular autumns, frigid winters, and disappointing springs.  Michigan and Missouri were minor variations on that theme.  Here you can have summer, winter, spring, and autumn in one day.  The garden next to our flat provides a perfect example of that right now.  I was walking to work a few days ago when I noticed that these had popped up:

Crocuses in September??

That’s weird.  We got a bit of a “heat” wave recently – you know when temperatures hit the 60s (!) and these overly eager little guys decided it was time to make their second appearance of the year.  In the same park there are also trees with leaves turning gorgeous colors and then dropping off the branches.

Which makes for an interesting juxtaposition.

Crocuses and autumn colors

These poor flowers didn't know what they were in for when they decided to sprout nine months early...

So if the crocus bulbs are this confused, you can imagine how frustrating it can be when trying to dress or plan anything that may involved time spent outdoors.  Rain contingency plans are a way of life and waterproof, but breathable, clothing is a must.

And so, I'm developing a co-dependent relationship with my wellies.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, flowers, Life in Edinburgh, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This crazy country…

  1. Melanie says:

    Wellies are essential ..and with lining for the winter when it really is freezing! So yes, all year round friends, I believe the true scots wear them without socks in the “summer”!

  2. Solomon says:

    I’m glad you finally got Wellies….you didn’t have them till recently, right? If so, that’s crazy cuz they were pretty much deveoloped for your insane climate. Maybe the crocuses are a Fall variety…so strange. Hope you are well!

  3. realoves says:

    I think you should enter the wellies photo in a contest. It’s stunning! The crocuses are beautiful too!

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    Wonderful pictures! We are in Chautauqua and the lavender is blooming all over again. Other than that we are enjoying the beginning of autumn leaves and 80degree temperatures. Next week, the temperature is supposed to drop 25 degrees.

    Love your beautiful crocuses and your wellies too!

  5. Katie says:

    It’s so true though that weather is of the up most important. I often remember talking to people about the weather and often thinking to myself “are we really talking about the weather?”. Well yes, because it’s always on the mind over there.

  6. Hello! I couln’t live without my wellies either. Just thought I’d let you know that the bottom photo of crocuses aren’t meant to flower in the spring, they are Autumn crocuses, colchicum autumnale, they are doing what they should, so you can heave a sigh of relief!! Not sure about the first ones though…….

Leave a Reply

