Afternoon Tea


As those of you who have been reading this blog for a while know, my dear friend Bethy gives me amazing gifts.  Although we haven’t seen one another in over three years, Bethy and I have one of those friendships that spans time and distance.  She’s a new mom and I hate that I can’t go see her and hold her baby.  But yesterday I enjoyed her latest birthday gift to me.  As in years past, she’s researched unique places to get afternoon tea and sent me a gift certificate and this year it was Loopy Lorna’s.  For those of you who are confused, yes, my birthday was back in January and I only now used the gift.  It’s one of those gifts that I usually wait to use – saving it for the perfect afternoon and that was yesterday.  A lot of my friendship with Bethy grew while we spent hours talking over tea and thus these gifts are always very special.

Loopy Lorna’s is this fun, quirky tea house set in Morningside.  Ashli and I took the bus out there and enjoyed a generous couple of hours spent enjoying this most civil of English traditions.  As Ashli and I are both marking the beginning of our fourth year here in Edinburgh I thought it would be fitting to share tea and reminisce about the past couple of years.  Having both spent the last couple of weeks welcoming a new batch of student wives, it was fun to think about all those feelings and the newness of Edinburgh and how this place has changed us over the past years.  I must say though that this new group of wives seems to have it a lot more together than I did that first year.  I had a challenging time of it at the beginning so it’s good to see these new students seemingly settling in a lot more quickly than I did.

The scones were delectable!

Finger Sandwiches

Ashli and me

Thank you Bethy!  It was such a fun afternoon – the only thing that would have made it absolutely perfect would have been your presence.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Afternoon Tea

  1. marty says:

    very cool, Bec:)

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    Becca, you and Ashli look great and I’m so glad that your friendship has spanned the years at Edinburgh. No doubt, it’s a friendship that will span the test of time as well…..

  3. Rea says:

    This reminded me that you, Bethy, Tot, Hilly and I all had tea at the Ritz to celebrate wedding dress shopping! What a delightful tea that was. Some day, we need to do a reunion tea somewhere we can all meet! Remember how Tot had a crush on the British waiter? So fun, and such a special day. Love you!

  4. Bethy J says:

    Yay Becca! So glad you were able to enjoy tea with Ashli…and Fisher and I loved catching up with you later in the day! I too hope we can setup some tea reunion with all you wonderful Bergs someday!

Leave a Reply

