Catching a show or two…


One of the things I love about Edinburgh is that there is always something going on here – whether it’s a play, concert, festival, or some other event.  For a city of just under half a million people it attracts a lot of talent.  Now, the quality isn’t quite Broadway or West End but if you put a little bit of time into searching you can generally find an entertaining production.

Two weeks ago I took Scotty to go see Yann Tiersen.  I really love Tiersen’s creative approach to music, especially in his Tabarly and Retrouvailles albums. When I found out he was going to be in town, I scooped up some tickets and away we went.  I had been warned that his concerts are very different from his more popular music (he wrote the soundtrack to Amelie) so I felt like I was prepared.  This was SO different – he and his band produce crazy, eclectic music that is surprisingly heavy.  As I (along with what seemed to be the entire French expat community here in Edinburgh) watched Yann and his four other band members jump from one instrument to another, it felt a bit like peering in on a mad scientist in his lab.  Instead of beakers, chemicals and gasses, he and his team worked with pianos, drums, mouth organs, violins, computers, percussion instruments, xylophones, basses, guitars, and a whole other range of instruments.  The results ranged from chaotic to magic.  This guy is talented – and the whole mad scientist image is helped by the fact that he has some seriously undisciplined hair.  I was most impressed when Tiersen played the violin – he could make that thing sing.  Bow strings were flying and breaking and his solos were fantastic.  Overall, it was a lot heavier than I would have liked but Scotty loved it.  I have a feeling that there were more than a few husbands at the venue who had been dragged there by their wives only to find that the music was much more to the guy’s taste.

This past Wednesday we went and saw a production of one of my favorite Oscar Wilde plays, The Importance of Being Earnest.  It was at the lovely Lyceum Theater and we had some great seats!  I love the Colin Firth/Rupert Everett movie version for all its witty banter and this live production did a good job of capturing that – even if it was a bit overacted.  The fun part of seeing different productions of the same play is how greatly they vary.  In this live production Wilde’s portrayal of the stupidity of the characters came through shiningly.  It really was quite funny.  Here’s some pictures of the theater.

As the theater is a bit on the smaller side, the views are great.

The Lyceum is really quite intimate.

The sets were great.

Gorgeous crystal chandelier.

And now for your Monday morning, one of my favorite Yann Tiersen songs:

The video is painfully cheesy, so just click play, open another window and check your email or something while the song plays. As it’s terribly rainy and cold here, I needed this pick-me-up today – hope you enjoy!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching a show or two…

  1. POP says:

    I love the violin. I think it is God’s favorite instrument.
    I mean, at City Church in S.F. this past Sunday, the worship team consisted of a few of the regulars who are all excellent musicians but also included on this particular morning three ladies on miked-up violins and a fourth on the chello and you would have thought……wow, cancel all plans, I’ll stay here all day and worship till I fall over. That instrument, skillfully played, can just take you to a special place beyond your heart, mind and soul.

    Thanks for introducing me to Yann Tiersen. Knew his music, not him. We’ve worn out the Amelie album as all our guests can attest too! Its fabulous…especially the songs featuring the accordian! I love those. Classic Parisian cafe musica!

  2. Karin says:

    I hope Scotty told you that he was in The Importance of Being Earnest in high school!

Leave a Reply

