Wandering


It’s been a while since I just walked around with my camera and took pictures of this great city.  I tend to simply snap pictures while I’m running to and fro on errands or on my way to work or school.  Every once in a while I walk simply to photograph and it had been far too long since I indulged.  There is something luxurious about being able to take an hour and just spend it looking for the beautiful and trying to capture it.  Today seemed like the right day to click away.  I headed to Princes Street Gardens as I love the gardens this time of year.  Here’s what I found:

I happened to be in the Gardens at 11 o’clock and therefore heard the cannon go off to signal a minute of silence in remembrance of the men and women who have served in the military.  It was interesting to see that quite a few people stopped what they were doing, and stood still for the full minute until the cannon signaled again.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring Scotland, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wandering

  1. Andrej says:

    The colors are really vivid with the rainwater! I spent a day in Edinburgh a few years ago and visited this same park in the late afternoon a few hours after a rain. It’s an intriguing park. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

  2. marty says:

    I’m so glad people there remembered and stopped for the full minute to honor those who served in WWI…here it’s practically forgotten (esp. among the young–ie the college students I work with) what today means and why it’s a state holiday…

  3. Tatiana says:

    hey I just learned what was the spark of World War I. It was the assassination of the Arch duke of Austria-Hungary Franz Ferdinand and his wife, by a Serbian. I hope this is right, if not, ooops!!!!

  4. Tatiana says:

    Beautiful pictures!!! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

