Let it snow!


What I woke up to!!!!!

Last night I told Scotty that I really hoped we’d wake up to snow.  Early this morning, I woke up and I just knew it had snowed.  Everything was quiet – except for some crazy bird that wouldn’t stop singing – and it was that hushed, still, heavy quiet that only comes with snow.  I hopped out of bed, peeked out the curtain and sure enough there was the snow!  Well, our flat was freezing and it was still dark out so I turned on the heat and returned to my nice warm bed.  When I got up a couple of hours later the snow had accumulated and it was gorgeous.  A friend recently said on her FB account that she “loves waking up to freshly fallen snow” and I couldn’t agree more.  Something about snow in the morning promises a quiet day, lots of cosiness, hot chocolate, and maybe a frigid but beautiful walk later.  And it’s also a great opportunity to have a nice slow breakfast with big cups of hot coffee.  So that’s just what we did…cooked a big breakfast and had a nice quiet morning in.  I also enjoyed reading a beautiful Christmas meditation written by a friend – if you’re on FB, you may be able to read it here.  Once the snow had slowed down a bit, we went to check it out.

After walking around for a couple of hours, we were thoroughly chilled and in need of some warmth.  Where better to go this time of year than the Dome?  It’s so spectacularly Christmas-y!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Christmas, decor, Edinburgh, Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let it snow!

  1. Cindy says:

    I love the winter wonderland that you call home Becca. The Christmas Holly and red Dome were spectacular!

  2. Aunt Cori says:

    What a blessing to enjoy the new snow thru your photos!
    Now I feel it really is getting close to Christmas!
    Blessings to you both!

    • Rebecca says:

      Thanks Cori! Have a wonderful Christmas – I’m sure you enjoy all those beautiful grandchildren. One day we’ll have to do a big Berg, Severson, Hanoian, Manor Christmas.

  3. Pingback: “Try to make sense of the things that you think” « @stevenadamswv

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    Merry Christmas Scotty and Becca! We love you and miss you. We so enjoyed our time with you. Soon we will be experiencing snow as well as you. (Can’t wait to meet Jason!) Love you much!

  5. POP says:

    Reminded me of waking up in snowy Cape Cod on a Saturday or Sunday morning
    which were always the best time for it to happen. Thanks

  6. Katie says:

    I’m the friend! Fun. Thanks for the tag 🙂 Gosh, it sure looks gorgeous there. And so festive at the Dome.

Leave a Reply

