And now, back to our regular programming….


Today in Scotland mail service has finally resumed after a prolonged holiday break.  This brought with it a virtual second Christmas with gifts from my parents and plenty of Amazon deliveries.  While this has been fun, I’m more than ready to get back into the swing of regular life.  The holidays were fantastic – fun times with family and friends, amazing feasts, slow days spent with Scotty watching old 30 Rock episodes, reduced hours at work, walks through snowy streets.  Now the snow is gone, the ornaments are put away, New Year’s goals set, detoxes started, schedules tweaked, and I’m ready for normal life.  Ready to buckle down for another long, cold, dark, dreary Scottish winter.  Do any of you feel the same?

One new year goal I am trying out is to rekindle my native-Californian friendliness.  This trait has fallen victim to ten years in New England and 3+ years in Britain.  I noticed how reserved I now am with strangers while I was in California and was startled by the friendly chit-chat instigated by nearly everyone I met.  Incidentally, the town my family lives in was found in a study to be the second most happy place on earth and that may have something to do with all the friendly people!  I’m not really one for mindless chatter but it is nice to be greeted with a smile and a friendly “hello!”  And from my experience working in a city center shop, those two things are in depressingly short supply here in Edinburgh.  An Irish colleague of mine has also noticed this since her holiday trip home and we’re both determined to maintain our friendliness in spite of the somewhat dour dispositions of our customers.  We’ll see how this resolution goes- it was severely tested yesterday by a particularly rude patron but I did recover in time to greet the next soup seeker with a smile.  What are your goals?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And now, back to our regular programming….

  1. Cindy Bruni says:

    I’ve always heard that the northern countries with colder climates lead to a more reserved people group than that of their southern neighbors; case in point being Russia vs. sunny Spain or Italy. I’ve also experienced this East meets West in marriage to a New Yorker!

  2. audrey says:

    Maintaining your friendliness – sounds like a great goal! you will bless many, sweet sister!

Leave a Reply

