C’est Magnifique!


Last night I was walking home from seeing The Secret Garden with Scotty and it started snowing!  I absolutely love it when it snows here in Edinburgh.  The city is transformed and everything is quiet and peaceful.  This morning we woke up to a brilliant sunny morning and I had to get out and take some pictures.  We were supposed to go to Glasgow today but the allure of a bright and snowy Edinburgh proved too much of a temptation so we canceled our little day trip and I set out to try to capture this beauty.

St. Mary’s Cathedral was absolutely stunning – the sharp winter light, the bright snow, the golden stone.  It could not have been more beautiful.  Hope you all are having a lovely Saturday!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring the UK, Life in Edinburgh, photography, White and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to C’est Magnifique!

  1. realoves says:

    It is magnificent, Becca. Thank you for your lovely tour. Looking at your photos, I felt the same emotion as I felt on those gorgeous New England mornings when snow fell in the night and we awoke to brilliant sunshine and blue skies. The architecture of Edinburgh lends an entirely magical element though. It is like a fairy land covered in powdered sugar, especially the castle and cathedral. I was thinking of all the endorphins your brain was receiving doing this wonderful photo montage. Thank you! Miss you . . .

  2. audrey says:

    beauty indeed! thanks for sharing and canceling the day trip to enjoy the glory of the Lord on your doorstep

  3. Hilary says:

    LOVE IT!! I want snow very badly. We might get some on Wednesday, of course little Wilsonville will not look nearly as beautiful as Edinburgh but it would still be nice. Great job capturing it all.

  4. Michael Martin says:

    Love the photos, thank you for sharing them. Wish I could be there. Love cold weather and the snow, not much available in Southern California, except we do have mountains close by.

  5. POP says:

    When I now think ‘what a beautiful blue sky’ I will think of these photos.

  6. Bethy Manor says:

    “Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord! Let the earth hear His voice!
    Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord! Let the people rejoice!”

    “It is good to give thanks and to sing praises to His name O Lord, Most High!”

  7. Melissa says:

    Loved the shots with the snow on the trees, lots of whimsy and magic. That’s why I love to snow ski right after it snows. God’s amazing painting in the winter. How I love it!

  8. Solomon says:

    Man oh man, your shots are breathtaking! I want to visit in the snow now too!!

Leave a Reply

