Edinburgh in Miniature


Lately I’ve been a bit obsessed (OK, completely enamored) with tilt-shift photography.  In case you’re not familiar with it it’s a photographing technique that make your photo subjects look dreamy and miniature.  There are some fantastic examples  here and here.  I’ve been playing around a bit with some tilt-shift softwares and decided to put up a Miniature Edinburgh Series.  I hope you enjoy!

So yesterday was my birthday and it was an absolutely lovely day – how could it not when my first gift from S was this?

 

Macaroons!

They're just so pretty!

OK, OK, I'll stop taking pictures and just enjoy them!

 

S and I spent nearly the entire day together doing fun things, enjoying a sunny and surprisingly mild day.  We saw The King’s Speech, wandered around town, did a bit of shopping, enjoyed some delicious meals, and just enjoyed being together.  While I’m not too thrilled about the whole 31 thing – I don’t like uneven or prime numbers when it comes to age – and I did notice a deepening line on my forehead last night it hasn’t freaked me out too much.

Anyway – thank you to everyone who emailed me a birthday greeting!  I felt very loved yesterday and am so grateful for my dear friends and family.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Dean Village, Edinburgh, Holidays, photography, Tilt Shift Photography Series and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Edinburgh in Miniature

  1. Alyssa says:

    These are beautiful!! Happy Birthday!! We miss you guys!

  2. Sol says:

    That photography method is soooo cool Becca!! Its exactly as you described it, nice work! Again, so happy your birthday ended up being wonderful, I thought of you often yesterday! Love you lots.

  3. Melissa says:

    Well it looks like you have mastered the tilt-shift photography. Loved the one with the double decker bus. Dreamy like in an old movie. Good job!

  4. Michael Martin says:

    Thank You for the beautiful pictures and a belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  5. Katie says:

    Those pictures are crazy!!! Everything really does look miniature. Wow, very impressive.

    Glad you had a great birthday 🙂

  6. sparrowhopes says:

    Becca I love these pictures! Really, really fantastic. Also, I’m so glad you had a good birthday! Let’s get together soon to celebrate with all the ladies… 🙂

  7. Just B. says:

    These photos are unbelievable gorgeous! Edinburgh is a wonderful city and you capture it beautifully!

    Great work,

    Brianna
    http://cobblestonestreets.wordpress.com/

  8. Pingback: Tilt Shift London | Paris at my doorstep

Leave a Reply

