Garlic and Sapphires


Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise

I have had so much fun reading this book! Thanks to my friend Audrey for making the suggestion, I was sucked into the world of New York Times restaurant critic and former editor-in-chief of Gourmet Ruth Reichl’s entertaining and slightly subversive world. I could not get enough of this book – it kept me up until the wee hours of the morning on several occasions! Pairing mouth-watering descriptions of magnificent meals with wry observations on human nature, this book tackles the New York food scene with enthusiasm, sarcasm, wit, and grace. Reichl’s prominent position forces her to work under cover, donning elaborate costumes complete with new personalities. Her musings on the effect these alternative personas have on her are very intriguing.  As she states, “I love the theatre of restaurants. Restaurants are magical places; for a few hours you can be anyone you want to be.”  This is a great read for long cold winter evenings desperately in need of brightening.   And it will inspire you to pull out that cookbook, or even try some of the recipes Reichl includes in the book.  Bon appetite!

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Garlic and Sapphires

  1. audrey says:

    I”m so glad you liked it, I still have to finish it. Think we could try being “actors” together sometime? I’d be nervous but would be happy to try it with you in a fabulous restaurant!

  2. POP says:

    Sounds fun….maybe we can attempt some of these tricks in Tuscany.

    In celebration of Super Bowl week here in the states I’d like to recommend a fun and entertaining read.
    “That First Season, How Vince Lombardi Took the Worst Team in the NFL and Set It on the Path to Glory” , by John Eisenberg. Don’t be discouraged by the mile long name….the book is actually a little better written than the title, though not by much, In “That First Season,” veteran sportswriter John Eisenberg “tells the story of—you guessed it—Lombardi’s first season with the Pack, an up-and-down-and-up-again campaign that saw Green Bay win its first three games, lose five in a row, and finish with a four game winning streak. It goes without saying that the book is geared towards Packers fans, but anyone with an interest in NFL history might also find themselves captivated.”
    I thought I would just throw this out there…..book review and all

  3. Hilary says:

    Aww, Pop, you are so funny! Becca, I heard an interview with this author on NPR. Notice how for every book review you do, I have heard the associated NPR interview. That is because I have no time to read, except board books, but plenty of time to listen, while chasing Ashton around the house. I dream of one day reading again….

Leave a Reply

