Hello


Hi friends,

This blog has been quiet lately because I’m absorbed with a big work project.  I will get back to blogging soon! For a little update the weather here has been miserable – cold, windy, rainy. Classic Scottish winter weather. It’s also reminded me of my #1 pet peeve of living over here. You all know that I absolutely love this city, so I think it’s safe to share this little annoyance. Pedestrians have no rights here. It can be absolutely awful outside and you can be trying to cross the street – gale-force winds pelting icy rain in your face and no one will let you cross. You can be standing in the middle of the road and trying to cross the street when traffic is stopped and the driver (warm, dry and protected) of the car in front of you will keep moving towards that red light, making you go around it – even though he’s only going to advance two feet before it has to stop. Also cars don’t stop when they are at the end of a street and entering another – they roll through what would be a stop in America, making all the pedestrians (bending into the rain) wait until he’s on his way. It’s SOOOOO annoying.

On a happier note, there is a new magazine on the block here in the UK. Most women’s magazines here are terrible – boring, poorly written, focused on makeup, weight-loss and little else. There is now oh comely. Its motto is “keep your curiosity sacred” and I am so enjoying it!

issue four

new year

 

It features fun articles, creative writing, homemade products. It’s not widely available in shops but for my Edinburgh readers you can pick up your copy at the following locations:

Analogue – 102 West Bow, EH1 2HH
Fruitmarket Gallery – 45 Market St, EH1 1DF
Red Door Gallery – 42 Victoria Street, EH1 2JW
The Spider and the Fly – 65 Bread Street, EH3 5LP

For my American readers there are stockists in New York City and international subscriptions are available.

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello

  1. cannylassie says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog. Brilliant! Thanks for the magazine recommendation- I’ve seen it in shops but never picked it up. I will now!

    Cheers

    http://cannylassie.wordpress.com/

  2. POP says:

    My subscription is in the mail now! Been waiting so long for this.
    BTW…love the elevation.
    And what might this project be? Should I keep my fingers cross and just
    a reminder-are you wearing your yellow fluorescent vest?
    Stay warm, be safe and “have luck.”

  3. kathy says:

    Hi! I saw your blog title from a friends blog and thought I would stop by. I love reading about bloggers in other parts of the world. The traffic there sounds scary! Your weather sounds about as fun as ours here in the US…I’m a magazine aholic and would have to get into a 12 step program without them! Glad you found one you like.

Leave a Reply

