Arezzo


On Saturday Scotty and I flew from Edinburgh to Milan, took the train to Florence, spent the night and then took a train to Arezzo where we met up with my parents – who had come in from Paris the night before. I sort of expected Arezzo to be little more than a train station. Well, that displays my ignorance because it’s a great little medieval town! And we happened to hit it on the first Sunday of the month, which meant that the streets were packed with an antique fair! Lucky us. Here’s some pics:

I would move in to one of these flats with the balconies in a heartbeat! They overlook the main town square and, seriously, how charming are they?

This town is chock-full of winding alley ways and narrow passages. And somehow my dad managed to navigate them in the rental car! While he was very calm and cool about the whole thing, there were moments I could do nothing but shut my eyes.

Scotty and Pop

Throughout the town there all sorts of products for sale – from homemade pasta, to pretty cool meat slicers, to antiques and a whole lot more. My mom even found a lovely Japanese woodblock print!

Examples of freshly made pasta displayed outside a restaurant.

Interesting knife holders...not sure I would actually want one of these in my house.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Arezzo if you find yourself in the area. It’s charming. And there is a restaurant there that is definitely worth a visit – more details on that to come.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Alleyways, Arezzo, Italy, Mini-break, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arezzo

  1. marty says:

    looks like spring in Europe…wonderful! thanks for sharing;)

  2. POP says:

    Hey Scotty it’s cool that nobody could tell we were Americans, that is until we spoke, right?

  3. Pingback: Caught up! And a music giveaway! « Highland Happenings

Leave a Reply

