Chianti Excursions


Montepulciano

While we were with my parents we took several day-trips to the surrounding towns. Our first was Montepulciano – one of many lovely Medieval towns in the area. Apparently Montepulciano recently served the the dubious role of movie set for New Moon (Karin, you would know more about this than I would,wink wink). Vampire movies aside, this is a beautiful place.

Grande Piazza

The pictures are a bit hazy because there were several farmers burning piles of dried up grape vines. The air smelled lovely - freshly turned earth warming in the sun, bonfires, mmm.

We also visited a really cool winery – Castello di Meleto. The castle itself dates from 1229 when it belonged to Benedictine Monks. It has since changed hands a few times and is now an agritourismo. The interior is delightfully Rococo.

Rococo details.

Classic Tuscan scene.

We also checked out Siena. As Scotty and I had been there before and pretty much seen what we wanted to, we enjoyed the main piazza, soaking up the sunshine while we were able. My mom and I also visited a great gourmet Italian grocery store and I stocked up on some absolutely delicious Balsamic vinegars and glazes. Mmm.

Siena is so incredibly beautiful.

Pop and Mom in the main Piazza in Siena.

Sunset views from the city walls of Siena.

Our adventures also took us to Cortona – a city I would love to spend more time in, and a few other places. Tuscany is such a dreamy destination. And in a lot of ways I feel like Italy is completely overwhelming. There is a space in my head that knows I could spend every vacation of the rest of my life in Italy and only begin to scratch the surface. Previous trips had introduced me to places I would love to return to and this was no different. But once our time in Tuscany was over, we were headed to Rome!  I couldn’t wait to meet this fabled city. Ever since I was a child I’ve thought about visiting the Colosseum, walking down the Apian Way, looking over the Forum – and now I was about to do all these things!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Arezzo, Castello di Meleto, Italy, Montepulciano, Siena and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chianti Excursions

  1. Karin says:

    Yes, I DID know about Montepulciano 🙂 The world would be a miserable place indeed without Director’s commentaries (or Twilight, for that matter).

    Once again, your pictures and stories are stunning!

    • Rebecca says:

      Ha! I knew you would know. It’s a pretty cool town and there are now several restaurants serving “Vampire Specials” – they involve lots of tomato sauce.

  2. audrey says:

    sister and bro.. this is glen

    We are looking for our hotels… your blog is the best. I wish we could be in Italy with you.

    take care…we will see you very soon

  3. Pingback: Caught up! And a music giveaway! « Highland Happenings

Leave a Reply

