The Rains in Rome…


Oh boy – Roman rain is intense. And it thwarted a few of our plans. Deciding that indoor venues were the right thing for us today we headed to the Pantheon. I was sort of expecting something like the Pantheon in Paris but this is completely different. The largest dome in Europe has been turned into a church and the inside is beautiful; sacred murals, beautiful statues, Raphael’s tomb.

It’s sort of crazy to think that with all this beautiful, priceless artwork, the top of the dome is open to the elements. The floor at the center was drenched with rain! After checking out the Pantheon we decided to walk through the Forum. We had walked the perimeter of it yesterday but I wanted to actually walk through it. On our way we came upon a Farmer’s Market – I think I have an internal radar that guides me to markets like this – I seem to find them in every city I visit. This one was great and we had a delicious homemade lunch from an agritourismo that had a booth in the market.

Slabs of home-cured prociutto!

At this point it was raining pretty hard but we decided to walk through the Forum anyway.

The Forum is amazing – again it’s so easy to imagine people running errands, think about philosophers sitting in a piazza ruminating on the deeper meanings of life, see priests and temple virgins making their way to the pagan houses of worship. It fun to think of someone running through the Forum with Paul’s letter to the Romans. Even the rain could not dampen my enthusiasm – although I had an umbrella and that helped. Scotty refused to let me share the umbrella with him so he was soaked – thoroughly soaked. Our plan was to visit the catacombs but the rain succeeded in defeating us. Cold and a bit miserable we called it a day after warming up in an Irish pub. The Catacombs, the Appian Way, and a whole lot of other sights in Rome – they’re all going to have to wait but you can bet I’m keeping an eye out for specials on flights to Rome. Anyone want to plan a trip?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Food, Italy, Rome, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Rains in Rome…

  1. Pingback: Caught up! And a music giveaway! « Highland Happenings

  2. POP says:

    Thanks for the tour. Your pictures show that Rome is not only Medieval, like so many cities in Europe, but
    beautifully Ancient as well. Nice work.

  3. Alie says:

    We’re off to Rome here soon; looking at these makes me happy:) (and reminds me to bring a rain jacket!)

Leave a Reply

