Caught up! And a music giveaway!


Little Joy

Whew! I just finished all the back-dated blog entries for our Italy trip. I have a bit of a chronological hang-up so the entries are posted in the order and on the dates that they occurred. If you want to read them here they are:

Arezzo

Il Borro

Chianti Excursions

Roma!

Vatican City

Ancient Rome

The Rains in Rome

Since we’ve been back home, it’s back to work! Scotty’s working way on his dissertation, I’m starting a new project. I’ve also been cooking a lot and will get around to posting about that soon. In the mean time I’m on a search for good happy music. My iTunes library is so mellow it borders on depressing – too much Coldplay, David Gray, Iron and Wine, Stufjan, and other melodious moaners. Don’t get me wrong – I still like all those guys a lot. I’m just in the market for some more upbeat, cheerful, catchy tunes. Rachel over at Black Eiffel recently recommended Little Joy and I’ve really been enjoying their album. Here’s one of my favorite songs:

So, I thought I’d ask you all for recommendations. What’s on your favorite “Happy” playlist? I would love any suggestions! And to encourage you to post your recommendations, I am going to give away an iTunes download of Little Joy’s album. It’s perfect for summer and one lucky reader will be given a copy. Just comment below with your favorite song, artist, music video – remember it needs to be happy!

This could be yours!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Music, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Caught up! And a music giveaway!

  1. Kristen says:

    Anything by The Kooks! They are amazing!

    Otherwise here is one of my favorite upbeat playlists:

    Hate to Say I Told you So – The Hives
    Around the Bend – Asteroids Galaxy Tour
    Four Songs & A Fight – The Sounds
    Jerk It Out – Caesars
    Electric Feel – MGMT
    Good Girls Go Bad – Cobra Starship
    Dog Days Are Over – Florence and the Machine
    Spilling Pints – Memoranda
    Dashboard – Modest Mouse
    G Major – Guster

    🙂

  2. POP says:

    u2’s……….”streets…………..no name”
    I know i’m 20 years behind on what they now call music………but this song does make me happy, so I guess I win,
    So rather than downloading me can you just send me the cassette or email it with an attachment. I should be able to figure it out. Thanks.

  3. Amanda says:

    Happy Music:
    Nelly Furtado (big fan of I’m Like a Bird)
    Sara Bareilles (love Fairytale)
    Barlow Girl

    and, because I love you, I will admit this: Spice Girls. There I said, it. It’s true. “Wannabe” makes me smile and laugh and dance.

  4. Hilary says:

    Pop – hahaha!!

    So I played the song you linked, and when it ended Ashton said “more”. So then we listened to everything I could find on YouTube. So Ashton totally digs the music and would like to offer a recommendation:


    If little kids singing in German doesn’t make you happy, nothing will.

    He is actually on his Bobby Car at this very moment rocking back and forth to this song. He really loves it!

    His other favorite is found here. Preview the first song titled “Bicycle.” http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/jellydots

    I hope you like Ashton’s Picks!!

  5. Paul says:

    i’m somewhere around Middle Age, so here are just 5 favorite (and mostly old) happy songs off the top of my head…

    Seals & Crofts – I’ll Play For You
    Abba – Dancing Queen
    Go-Go’s – We Got The Beat
    Katrina & The Waves – Walkin’ On Sunshine
    Polyphonic Spree – Light and Day

  6. Karin says:

    Michael Franti & Spearhead – “Say Hey” (this feels like a summertime, happy, dancey (sp?!) kind of song)

    Yolanda Be Cool & Dcup – “We no speak Americano” (you’ll be tapping your foot in no time)

    The “Wicked” station (it’s showtunes!) on Pandora makes me happy 🙂

  7. Sol says:

    I really only like Sufjan and Damien Rice, not particularly happy songsters but they do produce beautiful music… So I guess I just disqualified myself from this giveaway 😦

  8. POP says:

    Hilary, totally cracked up on Ashton’s picks. I can see him now. No better definition of happy music
    than a child loving it!

  9. Pingback: Happy Friday! « Highland Happenings

  10. Sage says:

    Rebbeca-
    I am coming out of the woodwork to say I follow your blog (love it). I also look to your blog for book recommendations, so thank you!

    Here is my “happy” music-

    Great Lake Swimmers- Great Lake Swimmers
    Finches- Human Like a House
    She & Him- Vol. 1 and Vol 2

  11. Pingback: BST brings Spring « Highland Happenings

  12. Josh says:

    Great idea Bec!

    If you will allow me to diverge from the rest of the group here and postulate that, for me, it isn’t whether the music has certain notes which make it sound like a “happy” tune, it’s the memories made with that song as the soundtrack which makes it “happy.” For example, Nelly’s “Hot in Herre” always makes me think of your wedding and all of us cutting it up on the deck singing the lyrics word-for-word! How ridiculous and hilarious! LCD Soundsystem’s “Someone Great” always takes me back to the trains and planes of Europe. Elefants “Misfit” was the theme music to my first summer in San Luis. All great times!

    • Rebecca says:

      Josh! I love your approach. So true – “Hot in Herre” always brings back memories of the wedding – Pop taking off his tux jacket and whirling it over his head! One of the funniest memories ever.
      Thanks for your input! Maybe I need to play music more often so that it accompanies the happy times in my life. Can’t wait to see you!!

  13. Jeremy says:

    Great post idea – and sad to have missed the giveaway. Here’s a favorite (though I can’t take credit, since Katy found it): Tyrone Wells, “And the Birds Sing”

Leave a Reply

