Vulnerability


One of my favorite websites is ted.com. Ted Talks are mind-opening,stimulating, and always interesting. So when my brother Solomon sent me a link to the following Ted Talk, I made myself a cup of tea and prepared to learn something new. Brene Brown tackles the topic of human connection. As a social worker and researcher she wanted to use data to explain human connection, reason away the barriers that people hide behind, and make the messy topic of relationship all nice and neat and organized. Well, as all of us humanities folk know, Brene quickly discovered the limits of science in explaining human action. Her “spiritual awakening” moment came when she discovered that the feelings of shame (which separate people) and worth (which make human connection possible) all come down to vulnerability. Her research is fascinating and her insights into the human story are well stated. I would highly recommend that you take 20 minutes to watch this video – it’s going to be way better than anything that’s on TV. As someone who struggles with vulnerability (don’t we all!) I found it refreshing and candid. I hope you enjoy and I would love to hear your thoughts. Click the link here or on the picture below.

In a related talk, David Brooks speaks on The Human Animal. Also worth a listen.


About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in TED, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vulnerability

  1. Rea says:

    Wonderful, Becca and balm to a discouraged and vulnerable soul right now! Thanks for passing this along from Solomon! So timely for me and for what I’m currently working hard to learn. I love this speaker and would love to hear more from her! Love you!

    • Rebecca says:

      I’m so glad that Solomon shared it with me. It’s the sort of thing I want everyone to listen to because it has the potential to fundamentally change everything. A big statement, I know, but I really do think it’s true.

  2. Katy says:

    Wow, Becca. Thank you so much for sharing that, it’s given me so much to think about. I think the struggle for vulnerability is absolutely at the heart of allowing ourselves to fully know and be known. And so difficult to do. A great reminder to ‘lean into the discomfort’. Thank you, thank you!

    • Rebecca says:

      I completely agree. The interesting thing is that so much of her talk falls right in line with what I’m reading in “Can You Drink this Cup” – taking all of the life we’ve been given with gratitude and sharing it with those around us.

  3. Pingback: Happy Friday! « Highland Happenings

  4. Pingback: Brené’s Back | Paris at my doorstep

Leave a Reply

