Music and Meringues


And the winner of the music giveaway is: Amanda! Thanks everyone for your suggestions – I’ve found some good music to add to my playlists.

I have been doing a lot of cooking lately and it’s been a good creative outlet for me. Right now I’m trying to perfect meringues and it’s been fun to experiment with different methods.

There are a couple of things that make meringues tricky – mixing and baking. The mixing is tricky because if you over-mix, the meringues will split and weep while they’re cooking. Doesn’t really accomplish the lovely little confection goal. And the next thing is cooking them – they take a very long time at a low temperature. Mostly you’re drying them out. But if you get all those things right, they’re heavenly little clouds of crunchy sugariness. My favorite way to serve them is with a homemade berry coulis and lightly sweetened whipped cream with vanilla. Mmmm.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Edinburgh, Food, Giveaway, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Music and Meringues

  1. Melissa says:

    So where is the recipe for us amateur meringue chefs?? LOL!! Always want all the help I can get for my lemon meringue pie!
    Mel

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    Mmmmmmmmm! Scotty is one lucky guy! Do we get to sample these some time? It will be fun to see you two in late May.

  3. POP says:

    OK, OK ……. I knew I didn’t have a chance…….so congrats to Amanda. Nice job! I’ll have to check her
    list out, but “wannabe”? Geeez 🙂

    I hope Ashton is not too disappointed 😦 and that he is still rockin to Bobby Car!

    Special Mention Award to Josh for his always insightful and fun entries. I’ll share my ‘u2
    elevation tour 2oo1’ cassette with him!

  4. Jeremy says:

    We can attest – the meringue recipe is perfected!

Leave a Reply

