Weekend Recap


This past weekend went by really quickly! Saturday was spent working – me at a catering event and Scotty at school. The catering event was a lot of fun and hard work so I crashed early that evening after enjoying some Vietnamese food from Pho Vietnam. Pho Vietnam is a new discovery for us and I’m really enjoying the fact that we can have Vietnamese food again – there is only one Vietnamese restaurant in Edinburgh and when we lived in St. Louis we regularly went out for pho so it’s good to have a place nearby where we can order fresh spring rolls!

After church on Sunday Scotty and I decided to take advantage of the fact that there was some sun peeking out through the clouds and made our way to Arthur’s Seat. We climbed the Salisbury crags and were rewarded with some beautiful views.

As you can tell, it was a lovely walk. I love that walking up Arthur’s Seat is such a popular Sunday afternoon activity in our little city. You pass interesting groups of tourists, locals, and students. Sometimes the things that people lug up with them are comical – yesterday there was a tourist with her suitcase! Another couple was carrying a baby stroller. This is not your usual hill-walk. On our way down we were met by an ambulance – apparently someone had twisted an ankle or was in some way trapped partially up the hill. Although I was curious to see the drama unfold, we decided to head to the Meadows. They’re in full-bloom right now and looking splendid. We stopped at Peter’s Yard for some tea and coffee – enjoying the fact that we could sit outside in the sun!

This week is going to buzz by – on Friday I leave for California! I’ll be gone for almost three weeks so I’m trying to soak up as much time with Scotty as I can before I leave.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring Scotland, flowers, Life in Edinburgh, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Recap

  1. Sol says:

    Looks like a perfectly good Sunday to me!! In Edinburgh everyone hikes Arthur’s Seat when it’s nice and in SF everyone heads to the parks when it’s nice, which is what Becca and I did. Got a little burned, but the sun felt good! Looking forward to Friday!

  2. Cindy says:

    Hi Becca,

    My Scottish friend from Edinburgh wanted me to ask you about Arthur’s Seat, Portobello and Tatoo! Beautiful pictures of an amazing city!

Leave a Reply

