Kickstarter


San Francisco, here I come!

I am on my way to California!! Despite the fact that I’ll really miss Scotty, I’m excited to see my family and looking forward to hanging out in SLO. Tonight, barring all flight delays, I’ll be in San Francisco eating at Foreign Cinema with my brother Solomon and his girlfriend Becca. Can’t wait!

Have any of you heard of Kickstarter? I just found out about it and think it’s fantastic. Basically the concept is that people can post information on projects for which they need backing. If you like the project you can then select a backing level and therefore support independent arts, food, cinema, music, and all sorts of other undertakings. How cool is that? Definitely check out the website. One of my favorite projects is the Heritage Seed Company. A couple in Pennsylvania have set up this great social network for the purpose of preserving heritage varieties of plants that are endangered by the growth of GM foods. They have focused on 30 seeds that are part of the Slow Food Ark of Taste endangered food lists and are working with communities to preserve these unique, beautiful, and tasty plants. That might not sound like a worthy undertaking but biodiversity within our food chains is essential. As a growing monoculture eliminates these lesser known varieties we not only lose the biodiversity, it’s actually dangerous. Monocultures create a risk of famine – think the Irish potato famine. When the potato blight struck the Irish potato harvest, it wiped out a huge supply of the nation’s food. Now that our farmlands are devoted to GM corn and soy, there is an increased risk of something similar happening here. So much of our food system is built around corn and soy that if something attacked corn we’d be at a serious risk of famine. On the flip side, diverse plant cultures protect us from such risks. Local varieties have developed resistances to certain diseases and fungi. Ensuring that a variety of fruits and vegetables are planted around the country helps fight this monoculture – while preserving some of our national plant heritage. Check it out!

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/fireman/heritage-seed-co-calling-all-seed-savers/widget/video.html

There are a whole bunch of fun and serious projects that are looking for backing (many starting at $1.00!). A few of my favorites are:

Coffee Joulies

All Thrifty States

Cambridge Community Kitchen

“When I Die, Please Send Me Home.” – a project about juveniles serving life without parole sentences in America.

I think this is such a cool concept – that people like you and me can support innovation and creativity! What are your thoughts?

Oh, and if you have a photo for the “Spring Around the World” project, please email it in! I have received a few great ones and am looking forward to seeing more of your pictures! Send them to rebecca (.) manor (@) gmail (.) com! Thanks!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Community, Photo Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kickstarter

  1. Sol says:

    Yay yay yay yay!!!!

  2. POP says:

    Yada, yada, yada…..yeah….I mean, yeah, definitely a world changer….

  3. Rea says:

    Love this, can’t wait to order some seeds!

  4. Pingback: Kickstarter – A collection of innovative ideas. « Fahrenheit Chronicles

Leave a Reply

