Well…since I do live in the UK…


Rachel and me - the only two to wear hats!

and the last one happened over thirty years ago, I decided to go ahead and join some friends to watch the Royal Wedding. Tea, scones, British flag banners, and hats. I had never actually cared enough to watch a royal wedding – I’m just not a huge monarchist – but this was fun. We had lovely treats provided by Megan and everyone was instructed that “Hats and Dresses are a Must!” So I dutifully stopped in to my local charity shop where the helpful volunteers and fellow lady customers all insisted that I buy the most over-the-top hat. They all pronounced it was perfect! Naturally, I couldn’t disappoint them and walk away without it. So I was the one with the huge hat while nearly everyone else wore cute fascinators. Ah, well. It was fun. I didn’t take too many pictures but here’s a couple.

Julia, Megan, and Rachel enjoying the wedding and some yummy British treats.

Wasn’t the wedding lovely? I really liked the effect of the live trees inside Westminster. And Kate’s dress for the small reception last night was gorgeous!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring the UK, Life in Edinburgh, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Well…since I do live in the UK…

  1. Bethy J says:

    I adore your hat Becca! Lovely!!

  2. marty says:

    way to go, Bec…I was thinking you would get to enjoy things ‘firsthand’ over there! does anyone ever tell you guys that you look like the royal couple? and i like your hat, too…

    marty:)

  3. Bethy Manor says:

    What a fun thing to do! And you look adorable in that hat, Becca. I hope your prince told you so, too. You just might pack that hat for our trip in May!

  4. Katie says:

    What fun! Wish I could have been in the UK to celebrate properly…but I was sleeping 🙂

  5. Joan Archibald says:

    A lovely hat for a lovely girl – which all the Berg girls are (including mamma)! I’m not a monarchist, either, and didn’t attend our Sunday school class tea to watch the wedding. But I caught glimpses of the scene as I passed through our living room where Bob was glued to the screen. The couple are very handsome, but I kept thinking how very sad that princess Diana was not there to enjoy her son’s wedding. I felt the royal family, particularly her husband, gave her a rotten deal, to put it bluntly.

    Are you ever coming back here to live? I would like very much to see your whole family again. I always think of the Bergs with most fond memories.

    Blessings ,

    Joan Archibald

  6. Rea says:

    Your hat is gorgeous, Becca. Sounds like you had a royal homecoming with all the festivities! I saw a wedding pic of your wedding while we were at the Bilazarians, (it’s that gorgeous one of Seth and Melanie with you and Scotty in the background) and sorry to say, you both made quite an even handsomer couple than the royals!

Leave a Reply

