Limbo


This used to be our family picture wall...now it's sadly empty.

In less than one month Scotty and I will be completely moved out of our home in Edinburgh. It’s so strange to think that on the 15th of August we will be saying goodbye to our flat. In three weeks we’ll have packed boxes and shipped them to NY. We’ll have packed bags for Paris and stowed them in a friend’s flat to be retrieved when we come through Edinburgh on our way to Paris. In 27 days we’ll be flying to the States for a three week trip that will involve lots of good family time, a wedding, and a visit to our old hometown, St. Louis. And then it will be back to Edinburgh for two weeks and on to a new city, a new culture, a new language (eek!). I am so excited about moving to Paris, so grateful for the opportunity, so stoked for a new adventure, and a bit overwhelmed by it all. Blog posting has taken a backseat to packing, sorting, donating, selling, and creating chaos in my flat. I don’t want to suddenly find myself two days away from take-off with a gazillion things to do, so I’ve started early. Our guest bedroom has been overrun with piles of items to donate, items to sell, items to pack for one destination or another. I’ve posted items on gumtree and arranged pick-ups. Scotty and I have sorted through our libraries and have managed to cut out nearly 200 books! And we’re still bringing a couple hundred back to the US and still have shelves to sort through. Pictures have been taken down, removed from their frames and packed away. Nothing we have here is valuable in material terms so we’re trying to figure out what is worth shipping for the sake of the memories connected with it. I know in a week or two everything will be sorted, our flat will feel spartan and I’ll be relishing the feeling of knowing that our lives can be packed up into a few suitcases and several boxes.

Stuff we're getting rid of. See anything you want, come claim it!

Stuff we're getting rid of. See anything you want, come claim it!

So that’s what our lives look like right now. We did have a lovely little trip to London and Brighton at the beginning of the month and I’ve been meaning to post pictures. But for now, I’m going to take another walk through the flat with a big trash bag!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Limbo

  1. audrey says:

    Good going, girl for starting early. I am praying for your sorting, packing and purging! What a great opportunity you have!

  2. POP says:

    bare walls, bare halls / your happy flat low as the tide / things left no longer fit or abide/
    life within, in a sense, reflected by life without / a season of change, cluttered, closure /
    except…what is held within…securely treasured / tales and memories and folks who count /
    times painted in eternity rich with the meaning of life / relationships built to endure the rise and fall / blessed times beyond belief / dreams fulfilled which seemed out of reach / oh what a time was had / only by love are we both glad and sad
    a new dawn approaches / there’s the first light / a flat awaits / rising tide rolls
    fresh walls and halls / what was done before will be done again / a new creation
    awaits on the quai de bourbon

  3. Bethy Manor says:

    I can’t top Pop’s entry, but know that you are on our hearts. Many wonderful memories are behind you, but many thrilling adventures are before you. You will miss your friends, people you will follow your whole lives through, but there are new friends to be made and a language to learn in one of the most beautiful cities in the world!

  4. Jill says:

    I’ve just recently discovered your blog and am delighted! Sad to hear you are moving on from Scotland, but good luck in Paris – what a beautiful city.

    I am considering studying for my MFA in Glasgow, so it’s exciting to see and hear about all things Scotland. I’ve been there twice in my life and absolutely love it.

    Best of luck! Oh – will you be renaming your blog once you move to Paris??

  5. Josh says:

    I very much connected with your title “Limbo.” Packing up my own home I’m struck with how unsettled I feel. Coming home is no longer peaceful and familiar. It has become stark and very apparent that it belongs to someone else. I am comforted though by the fact that I will share my next home with Grace. That’ll be cool I guess;)

Leave a Reply

