Wedding! Part I: the Prep


A week ago today, Scotty and I left Chautauqua and made our way to San Luis Obispo, CA. We had had a wonderful time in Chautauqua – hanging out with family, enjoying a special visit from cousins Annie and Laura, grilling, sailing, and generally unplugging. I have pretty much dropped my email for the past two weeks and it’s been wonderful – although if you’ve sent me an email and I haven’t responded, I will do that soon. Sorry for the delay. Anyway, it all added up to a fantastic time in NY.

Following the downtime we were ready for a full-throttle onslaught of fun and activity when we arrived in California. My little brother Josh and his fiancé Grace (remember this from last November?) got married on Saturday and it was beautiful, fun, joyous, and perfect. The whole weekend was perfect – from the rehearsal dinner, to the backyard reception with dinner and dancing. Josh and Grace were surrounded by their favorite people and everyone pitched in to create a beautiful celebration. I can’t wait to see the official photographs because the photographers seemed stellar! In the mean time, here’s some pics of all the prep.

Part of the backyard - just getting ready for all the chaos. Mom and Pop worked for months in the yard getting it ready for this big day!

Part of the dahlia garden my mom put in.

Part of the dahlia garden my mom put in.

Amazing!

Stringing up cable for the Italian lights.

Mom, Tot, Katie and I went on a scavenging mission for silver dollar eucalyptus.

We were pretty successful!

The hydrangeas have been delivered!

And here's the roses!

Chilling some of the champagne!

That's me, stripping and de-thorning about 300 long-stem roses.

Josh stringing up the lights.

Scotty, Josh, and Solomon take a break to hang out with little Brick.

Some of the arrangements are starting to come together.

The flower team; Solomon's girlfriend Becca was a pro with the roses!

As I was busy with flowers, I have to give full photographic credit to my little sister Tot! She took nearly all these pictures and I think she did a great job. At this point we’d all done just about everything we could and it was time to rehearse! So people quickly showered and it was off to the races. The rehearsal dinner was at a gorgeous winery and it was a fantastic evening.

Scotty and I showed up a little bit early with our friend Lisa so we were able to watch the set-up and make sure all the place cards were properly set.

Coming together.

It was such a fun day of prep and evening of celebration! This is the third wedding in my family and it’s starting to feel like we’re getting this thing down.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Back in the States, decor, Family, flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding! Part I: the Prep

  1. Melissa says:

    Everything looks beautiful and totally organized – of course! Glad it was such a special event!

  2. Bethy J says:

    Amazing! How beautiful and special – reminds me of so many wonderful memories leading up to your very special wedding day. I love the Bergs!!:)

Leave a Reply

