Tomorrow…


We are moving to our new home. Today, we’re saying goodbye. Will catch-up with you all in a few days when we’re settled and have had some time to recover. It’s been a crazy two weeks but it’s all come together. Scotty submitted his dissertation today and it felt surreal, and wonderful, and sad, and huge, and I got a bit emotional. Can’t believe it’s all over. Can’t believe we have spent the past four years here. Can’t believe Scotty won’t be walking up the Mound to New College each day. Can’t believe that little dream we talked about all those years ago in St. Louis is now coming to a close.

New College

 

Goodbye, Edinburgh. Thank you for being such a wonderful, strange, inspiring, quirky, beautiful home.

PS: Now that we’re no longer going to be in Scotland, I need a new name for this blog. Any ideas?? Would love some suggestions.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Edinburgh. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tomorrow…

  1. Bethy J says:

    Congrats to you both – May the Lord bless this new adventure!

  2. realoves says:

    Wow, congratulations, Scotty! We’ve been praying for you (and your prof, that she would get it read!) so we are relieved and blessed that IT IS DONE!!! I feel a little emotional too, considering the wonderful memories we have from your lives there. Congratulations seems pretty lame considering how big this is! We will definitely celebrate with some Cliquot when we see you next! In the meantime, hope you’re celebrating. We love you and are so proud of you both, all you’ve done, all you’ve endured, and the fabulous ways you’ve both grown. Oh, I will miss Highland Happenings! How about Paris Permutations? Has the same sort of ring, huh?

  3. Melissa says:

    Amazing!! You two have done so much, seen such gorgeous country, made fab friends and Scotty, finished your dissertation! Whew!!! What great memories you have, but your lives have a great next chapter coming, in a city of lights!! Pink ones! May you be blessed by the Lord!

    Love,
    Mel

  4. Sol says:

    Aww such great memories of visiting you guys in Edinburgh, loved our time spent together there. I’m so stoked for your next adventure and a bit jealous too! Can’t believe you are done Scotty, what an amazing accomplishment! Bec and I will take you out for a celebratory dinner in November. God bless you both on the move and adjustment to a new incredible city!

  5. Marty says:

    Thanks for sharing your heartfelt sentiments as you leave this foreign city that has become ‘home’. You are in my thoughts and prayers as you start over again…

    much love,
    🙂

  6. Michael L. Martin says:

    I liked the name Highland Happenings, it will be hard to choose a new one. Here goes:

    “Lle de France plaisirs”

  7. Sloane says:

    I’m so excited for you, I know you will love this new adventure! It is always hard saying goodbye to a place, it amazes me the power that a city, or even a street can hold. As for names, how about Eiffel Events? or The Manors Merveilleux? Seine Scenes? Manors and Macaroons? I stayed with alliteration but I could play this game all day! 🙂
    Even though I was just in Paris, I’m already ready to go back. Have some Berthillon for me…and some macaroons, and some soft creamy cheese, and some steak frites….ok I’ll stop. I need you to eat for me for the next year! Love you guys.

  8. Katy says:

    Oh Becca! This post got the tears going! I can’t believe you guys won’t be there when we get back. We have loved our time in Edinburgh with you, what a gift. You will both be so, so missed. Seriously. But I am really excited to hear about all your adventures in Paris – and also excited to come and visit! I keep reminding myself we’re just a quick flight or chunnel ride away. Love to you both. Praying for you during this big transition!

  9. audrey says:

    How exciting! I”m teary thinking of Scotty submitting his dissertation! WooHOO!
    prayed for you yesterday and will continue to do so. a year in paris….what a wonderful experience…
    will think on new blog title…

  10. Becky says:

    Ditto. Makes me sad too. Most chapters of life are exciting to close, but not this one.

Leave a Reply

