Île St. Louis this morning…


Once upon a time I was a morning person. I am still the type who wakes up with my mind full of thoughts and ideas but later nights have pushed my waking back a bit more than I’d like. Paris is slowing turning me back into a morning person. I absolutely love mornings here. The city is quiet, the streets are freshly washed, the sidewalks are basically empty. The busiest places are the boulangeries where there are queues of people buying freshly baked bread. This morning I woke up and just knew I needed to take a little walk around the Île and snap a few pics. The city was deliciously quiet. The air crisp. The light soft. I love how it lights up all the eastern and southern facing buildings but there are still quiet little alleys that are dark.

Have a wonderful Sunday wherever you are!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, Paris, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Île St. Louis this morning…

  1. Nathalie says:

    That 3rd photo is wonderful, we are having a nice Sunday here in Edinburgh too!

  2. POP says:

    Great day to you too. What a wonderful morning you had. The multitude of such stylish buildings in Paris is quite amazing, overwhelming at times. I know the Second Empire was responsible for a lot of stupid stuff, ie worthless wars and killing off the Republic to name a couple, but what Haussmann did with the city is still the Paris we love today. No wonder, year after year it remains the most visited city in the world.
    Fortunate you!

    • audrey says:

      Sister…what great shots in the morning, on freshly washed streets in the crisp air. so happy for you and scotty.
      i am enjoying Paris on YOUR doorstep!

  3. Bethy J says:

    What a beautiful morning! Thank you for taking us along…

  4. Melissa says:

    There is nothing like a quiet still morning! You feel energized for your day and start it with a great attitude, how thankful we are for these moments. My morning started with and ole guy driving his tractor down the street, waving to those of us who were up. Other than that, it was beautifully quiet. Love the country. Have a great day!
    hugs!!

  5. Pingback: Weekend review | Paris at my doorstep

  6. Iain -Down under says:

    Thanks for your pics, My wife and I and a friend have rented an apartment on the Isle in May next year so it was great to see some pics of the area from a local perspective.

    cheers.

  7. Bethy Manor says:

    Beautiful pics of a quiet Sunday morning! Enjoy your folks coming soon!!!

Leave a Reply

