Just because it’s a beautiful day here.


So, Scotty and I have been in class for four full weeks. And since it’s been a whole month, it’s time for a holiday. Or at least that’s how it seems to work here in France. Yes, one month in and we have a whole week off. And then it’s back to class for an entire six weeks before we break again for Christmas. Was being in school always this easy? Or am I forgetting something? I feel like I was a lot more stressed in college and that the time between breaks often seemed to stretch out forever. Is the difference that I’m older? Or do the French just have a much more generous vacation schedule? Anyway, even though I’m now over 30, I still felt that slightly giddy feeling when I left school today. It’s funny because I really enjoy going to this class and hadn’t even been thinking about the break. There’s just something about being given a break that still makes me feel like a young coed.

My mood was matched by the gorgeous sunshine and I had to pull out my camera and try to capture the play of the sunlight on the water of this fountain situated in front of St. Sulpice. I was completely unable to capture the full beauty of light and water but here are my attempts.

And then I hopped on a bike and made my way home.

One great stroke of luck is that our break happens to coincide perfectly with a visit from my parents! They arrive tomorrow and we’re going to take in Giverny and Normandy, go to a book signing with David Lebovitz (!), and eat lots of delicious food and drink lots of mediocre coffee. I can’t wait.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Paris, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Just because it’s a beautiful day here.

  1. obrienspix says:

    Love any kind of waterfalls…so peaceful & relaxing.

  2. audrey says:

    how exciting that rea and russ are coming during your break.
    the fountain looks amazing in your pix.
    i found that I loved grad school so much compared to my undergrad – could it be that you value learning so much more when you are older? i atttributed it to that and the fact that I was paying tuition in grad school!
    enjoy your parisian break, sweet sister!

  3. Nathalie says:

    look at you with the slow shutter speed! I am so excited that you are experimenting with manual settings, it’s the only way to go! Bonne Vacances!

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Nathalie, Thanks! I am excited to be pushing my camera further. I’ve been shooting in manual for years but never really experimented. Before I upgrade, I decided I should actually see what my camera can do!

  4. Marty says:

    I can just see you stopping on the sidewalk and whipping out your camera to catch the day! Have a great time in Normandy:)

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Marty! We can’t wait for our Normandy adventure. Headed out Wednesday. Will let you know how it goes. Hopefully we’ll avoid the 20km bike ride!

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    The pics are gorgeous! You will have to teach me how to do that shutter speed when we come. Please give our love to Russ and Rea and have a wonderful break!

    • Rebecca says:

      Thanks Bethy! I would love to show you how to adjust shutter speed…once I actually figure out what’s going on. I’m just playing with it and occasionally get lucky! We’re having a great time with my parents. We went to Giverny (Monet’s home today) and you would love it!

  6. The breaks for college students in the U.S. are still few and far between! Especially during the fall term. I’ve been in class since August and must continue through December with no break 😦 What I would give for a week off! Lucky you!

    Beautiful pics!
    -Kristen

Leave a Reply

