Life can be amazing…


Me in 1998...

I first visited Paris thirteen years ago. In October, 1998, my parents took the family on a three-week trip to Europe. We drove all over France, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Austria and Germany. It was such an adventure and we have a lot of great memories of that trip. One of the most clear memories for me was walking down Rue St. Louis en Île. We had just spent two weeks driving all over the place and were now in Paris. We made our way to Île St. Louis and all of us were completely taken with this amazing little spot. I remember thinking that it would be incredible to live here and I even stopped at the local florist and bought a bouquet! Yes, I was totally sucked in. As I was walking out of the shop, my dad snapped a picture of me.

Fast forward thirteen years and I live here. Exactly thirteen years later my parents are back in Paris and we’re all staying around the corner from Patrick Allain, the florist where I bought those flowers. I couldn’t resist the opportunity to recreate that moment, so this morning I walked down to the florist with my parents and here I am. The funny thing is that I’m pretty much wearing the same outfit and that was not planned. I guess I may need to update my style a bit!

Me in 2011.

Anyway, it’s fun to think of the 18-year-old me walking through these streets with absolutely no idea that one day she would be back here, living in this very spot with her husband. Life can be pretty amazing.

Here’s one with me and Mom.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun, Life in Paris, photography, Thoughts, travel, Visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Life can be amazing…

  1. Melissa says:

    Great pic with your lovely mom! We just never know what treasures the Lord has in mind for us and when you will have these moments. He is so good.
    Hugs,

  2. audrey says:

    goosebumps!!!

    AMAZING!!!!
    you look adorable in BOTH!

  3. Hilary says:

    Totally remember that! So cool!

  4. Solomon says:

    So awesome Becca! Did we get those flowers to brighten up that apartment we stayed in near the Eiffel tower? Remember all us kids cleaning to try and make it better for mom and pop?

    • Rebecca says:

      Ha! I do remember that – but this was a different flower purchase. I’m sure it did brighten up the apartment . You may remember these flowers, they were red and looked like fuzzy brain matter….

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    I’m so happy that you could actually relive that experience with your folks, and actually live there with Scotty!

  6. marty says:

    i think this is one of my favorite posts of yours! yes, life is amazing:)

  7. Karin says:

    I’m with Marty….this may be the best post ever! Our Lord really does delight in us and loves to treat us with good things. How special that you remembered. Thanks for sharing with us!!

Leave a Reply

