Fall Color in Paris


It has been funny spending the last five autumns in Europe. Europeans don’t seem to “do fall” like Americans. I am missing apple picking at local orchards and sipping hot apple cider. I haven’t had pumpkin bread with maple butter. No one brought candy corn to class. It seems that those much cherished autumnal rituals are distinctly American. So it’s always a little sad to miss out on all the pumpkin picking and apple bobbing. And the fall colors here are really nothing when you think of that brilliant New England foliage or those blazing scenes of maples and birches turning hillsides into ecstatic riots of red and orange and yellow. No, fall here is more subdued, but I’ve sought it out.

And now it’s the weekend! Any fun plans? Scotty and I are thinking of heading out to a big garden on the outskirts of Paris – maybe we spot some more foliage there.

Oh, and I have to link to this. It’s a fantastic idea for making your own Kindle cover out of an old hardback book. Normally I’m not one to advocate destroying an old book, but this is really clever and I’m sure you could find some old antique book that’s really poorly written and awful…I sure know I’ve bought more than my fair share of old books that ended up being awful. Anyway, it’s pretty cool, huh? And I’m actually thinking these would be clever Christmas presents.

Have a lovely weekend, friends! Hope you’re enjoying autumn wherever you are…or spring for those in the southern hemisphere.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, Paris, photography, travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall Color in Paris

  1. Solomon says:

    Becca,

    Your posts recently have been fantastic! Really enjoyed seeing/hearing all the great stories from mom and pop’s trip over there… you all saw some awesome things! That’s sad that you don’t have everything come in a pumpkin option starting in October, I guess Americans really are obsessed with making the most of seasons. You could always pop in to Starbucks for a pumpkin spice latte. Becca and I don’t have big plans for the weekend, but we are seeing Sufjan on Sunday evening, do I’m obviously excited about that! Wish we could explore those gardens with you and Scott! Looking forward to havin him with us for a few days, make him stay with me!

    Sol

  2. POP says:

    Mark Twain not only looks better in an old book but reads better too.

  3. Cabbie Notes says:

    It may not be New England, but the softer fall still looks wonderful!

  4. Pingback: Top 8 Trees For Best Fall Color | Gardening with Cheryl

Leave a Reply

