Breaking the silence


French graffiti - apropos for this entry.

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything. I would like to say that we’ve been busy doing all sorts of interesting things, but mostly we’ve just been trying to get over some particularly virulent colds. I’ve had mine for over three weeks and it’s knocked me out. So while life outside my door continues, mine has mostly consisted of drinking lots of emergen-C, sucking on cough lozenges (cost in Paris: €6.80 for 12!), and working my way through several boxes of kleenex. In between blowing my nose, I’ve been catering to my brainfog by spending too much time on Facebook and reading way too many articles on how to maintain one’s health. Apparently, a key factor in maintaining health is to not get sick in the first place. Well, if I’d only known – insert eye roll.

There were some bright spots in the midst of sniffling. Scotty returned on Thanksgiving day and it has been so good to have him back. We had a nice quiet Thanksgiving celebration and purchased a roast chicken dinner on the Rue Mouffetard where we also discovered a Mexican joint. Paris is undergoing a bit of a Mexican food boom and we’re working on sampling some of the more popular places. This place makes corn tortillas so I may end up just using them as a source if they will be willing to sell a dozen to me. I’m pretty sure that my Californian roots mean I’ll be able to make fillings more authentic than what we’ve tried so far. We had an additional Thanksgiving celebration the following Saturday at our church. The American Church in Paris puts on a huge Thanksgiving meal each year and we made sure to get our tickets early because it sells out quickly each year. We met some really interesting people and enjoyed an absolutely delicious traditional meal. We also volunteered for the clean-up crew as we’ve found it’s a great way to meet people. I had an intriguing conversation with a woman from China as we tackled the roasting tins with our scrubbers! Nothing like discussing China’s “one-child policy” while you’re rinsing cutlery for nearly 200 people.

Thankfully, there is always so much happening in this town that it’s easy to combat the cabin fever that results from being cooped up in a 25 sq. meter apartment! Outside our door there is always something going on. On my way home from class one day I saw that a movie was being filmed.

Very interesting, non? But not quite as interesting as the people walking by:

Seriously, this trio had nothing to do with the movie. They were just walking around Paris taking pictures. Anyway, while we were watching the filming an old French man came up and started chatting with us. Even though he was crazy, I liked him the second he told Scotty that he was a lucky man because I “didn’t have all the extra fat like most American women.” Ahhh, the words every girl wants to hear!

Another sight that brightened one of my walks home from class was pink mums in the Luxembourg Gardins!

And Paris is busy putting on it’s Christmas best. We have yet to venture out to the main “illuminations” as we’re waiting until our Christmas break but here’s a few that we’ve spotted.

Hôtel du Ville now sparkles.

 And so that’s what we’ve been up to. It’s been so fun to see pictures of everyone getting ready for Christmas – it’s such a wonderful time of year and I’m excited to spend it here in Paris.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Christmas, flowers, Holidays, Life in Paris, Paris and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Breaking the silence

  1. Nathalie says:

    Photo shoots couples must be one of the strangest parts of living in Paris, I will never understand the allure of flying around the world, getting gussied up in a crazy dress and then paying a photographer a fortune to get your photos taken! Good to see you’re back in blogging mode!

  2. hello100blog says:

    Reblogged this on Hello100blog.

  3. Becky says:

    Scotty is lucky to have you…and not only for that reason! Thanks for the chuckle! 🙂

  4. Melissa says:

    Sorry about the colds!! How fun to explore all the “illuminations” in Paris! Thanks for the pics, I love my armchair traveling via Becca’s blog!! Hugs!

  5. jcrkelly says:

    Welcome back! I hope you feel better soon. My husband and I will be in Paris for 2 weeks if you and Scotty would like to meet up with some random strangers?? We’ll be there from the 26th-jan 9th. We’ll chat Edinburgh, Paris, New College, etc. etc..

  6. Hope you get well soon! And the comment about fat American girls was priceless!, Oh, the French.

  7. Bethy J says:

    Christmas in Paris ~dramatic sigh~…:) LOVE the mums…what a happy, beautiful sight! Glad Scotty is back and hoping you will feel better soon dear friend!! Love to you both!

  8. Jeremy says:

    What a recap! I’m so glad you two are back on your feet, and especially grateful you lent Scotty to us for the week. Christmas in Paris looks lovely, and it sounds like you two are doing all sorts of creative things to make it fun!

    • Rebecca says:

      Hi Jeremy! Scotty had a great time seeing you and the other NC people. So wish I had tagged along. Next year. We’re praying that everything goes well on your trip home! Give Katy my love.

  9. Cabbie Notes says:

    Hello, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Here are the details: http://wp.me/p1Qr4a-7I. Thank you for sharing your travels!

  10. Pingback: The random brides of Paris | Paris at my doorstep

Leave a Reply

