Paris in December


The past few days have been so incredibly beautiful. It’s rained quite a bit and the Seine is rushing faster than usual. In between the downpours, the sun breaks through in absolute brilliance. Walking home yesterday I was treated to these sights at Invalides.

Being in Paris right now is exhilarating. The city is bustling with people doing their Christmas shopping. There seems to be fewer tourists but I imagine they’ll be back closer to the holidays. There is a bite in the air and it’s been quite windy, but the sun is still warm.

If you’ve been reading this blog regularly for almost any amount of time, you’ll know I have a thing for sky views. In Edinburgh I loved the variety of cloud shapes and the million shades of grey one would see in the course of a day. And when the sun would peek through, it was brilliant. It’s the same here, and I guess it’s probably the same everywhere. I just happen to like seeing those dramatic skies behind European cityscapes. Yesterday, we walked over to our new flat to meet with our future landlord. The new place is smaller than I remember it being and we’re both a bit nervous about spending six months in less than 200 square feet! And I’m starting to question the whole 19 square meters thing…this place is tiny. But the one advantage it has over our current flat is the view. Where we’re currently living we’re on the inside corner of a courtyard and we don’t get a lot of natural light and you cannot see the sky. Thanks to the six-story walk-up at our new flat, we’ll be above everything and will once again be able to see the sky. Hopefully that will make up for the small space…

We’re moving in three weeks, so I’m taking more pictures of our current neighborhood. This afternoon’s sunshine was a great motivator to pull out the camera, adjust my settings, and snap some pictures.

 

I’m going to miss living on this little island, but it will be fun to be in a more authentically “French” neighborhood.

This is the last week of class before we break for Christmas. I’m excited to have some time off and plan on taking lots of walks and checking out the Christmas decorations that are popping up all over Paris. It is funny because in our neighborhood, the approach to decorating seems to be a bit random. One day they add a string of lights on one tree and another across the street. A week later six Christmas trees appear on the bridge around the corner. A few days later, more lights are placed on a few more trees and there’s more decorations on above the streets. So funny. It’s almost like living in an Advent calendar where each day brings a new surprise.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Paris in December

  1. Lovely pictures! I’m heading to Paris in mid May and can’t wait!

  2. audrey says:

    Love reading about how you enjoy taking shots of the landscape with the sun bursting through! and being a part of a living advent calendar.
    Love enjoying Paris through your eyes…

  3. Rea says:

    We’ll I hope that while I’m in Paris for a month, you’ll feel free to stretch your legs in my spacious apartment a lot! The tiny living spaces in Paris are one reason why everyone is outside all the time! This is another secret to their health and joie de vivre!
    Beautiful post!
    Mom

  4. I enjoyed reading this post. I especially enjoyed the pictures – they inspire me to want to visit Paris one day. 🙂

  5. POP says:

    How many skies like that are in Chris Van Allsburg’s books?
    When viewed you literally feel the chill.

    • Rebecca says:

      It’s true – very Van Allsburg! I hadn’t thought of that and am glad you mentioned it. It is that bright coldness that’s so invigorating…at least for the first five minutes.

  6. Coco Marie says:

    I loved this post. I feel the same way when walking around the city right now. Paris is truly one of those places that is beautiful and magnificent all year-round. Enjoy the rest of the holiday season!!

  7. Salut! I love those Pictures…. Paris is my second home and I will fly home tomorrow 🙂
    Thanks for sharing. I look forward to more of your pictures in Paris.

    Dolly

  8. Uncle CB says:

    Rebecca, I know Paris is filled with beauty all around (bldgs, gardens, etc), but that “cloud bridge” across the river I have never seen or heard about. Great photo…that one!!!!

  9. Cabbie Notes says:

    Even in winter, Paris never loses its flair! You’ve brought out its colors beautifully.

  10. Hi Rebecca,

    thank you for your interest in our little straw bale hotel. We hope to see you once it is finished.

    A bientôt

    Louis

Leave a Reply

