A weekend away…


This past Saturday, Scotty and I caught a train to Brussels! It’s the first time we’ve done that since moving to Paris, and I have to say, it is so nice tobe able to train to other countries. Seriously, so much better than flying. After four years of traveling around Europe via low-cost air carriers like Ryan Air and Easy Jet, I have gained a much greater appreciation for train travel. Although we were only going to be gone for three nights and only packed one bag, I didn’t even have to think about luggage restrictions. There was no pre-board check-in, no waiting around in the airport, no demands to shut off my Kindle at take-off and landing. And it was faster! The Thalys train from Paris to Brussels takes about 90 minutes city-center to city-center. To add to the convenience, Scotty noticed we could upgrade for a very reasonable fee to 1st. This proved to be entirely worthwhile as our car was quiet, spacious, had free wifi, and we were served food and drinks. If, in the future, I have the choice between training or flying in Europe, you will find me happily settled into a roomy train seat complete with a footrest.

Anyway, we were off to Belgium for a few days and I was excited to have an introductory visit to a new country. Brussels is in the midst of a Christmas extravaganza and we thought it would be a good time to visit. When we arrived we made our way to the town center to check out the Christmas markets and take in the Electrobel Nights show that takes place each evening throughout the month of December. It was a little funky and a constant freezing drizzle meant that some parts of the show could not take place. There was one dancer who was dressed like a butterfly and she must have been hypothermic by the time her dance was finished. Anyway, I am sure we would have enjoyed it more if it had been the complete show and it hadn’t been raining. Here’s some pics of the lasers.

Really, the best thing about the show is the setting – this gorgeous square with Baroque and Renaissance architecture. It has quite the history and some of the buildings are very interesting. The center of town was completely dudded out in Christmas decorations and lights. And it was packed. There were people from all over the place here, munching on Belgium waffles (yum!), doing their Christmas shopping, sampling Belgium chocolates (yum!), and just wandering around sipping vin chaud (yum!). Yes, this is a place where gaining a few pounds would be an easy proposition. We sampled Belgium frites but settled for some lovely Thai food for dinner. There is just something about the two of us – whenever we’re traveling somewhere new and it’s cold, we always end up eating Asian food. A big bowl lemongrass scented broth just calls my name. Ok, back to Brussels.

Brussels seems to have a lot to offer as well as a lot of the usual junky touristic stuff. There are also some pretty unique offerings. Such as, the artificial ski slope.

Yep, a ski slope. For a mere €5.00 for 20 minutes, you could ski on an artificial slope. It didn’t look like it was very challenging, but we only had to look on for about two minutes before we saw someone crash. We didn’t ski as we found that simply watching the skiers was amusing enough.

After spending a few hours walking around in the drizzle, we were chilled to the bone and headed back to our hotel. The next day we headed to Bruges. I’ll write more on that tomorrow – it really was interesting and we saw the most puzzling Christmas parade I have ever seen. Ever.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A weekend away…

  1. Audrey says:

    Fun times in Brussels! I agree with you preferring a train ride to other modes of travel. Glen is wondering about your plans for Christmas. ?

  2. Melissa says:

    Brussels looks lovely. I admit I love Baroque and Renaissance architecture and it looks like there is quite a bit there to see. You just feel like you have landed into another period of time, something to appreciate. I just received an email from Edinburgh about their Christmas Market! Sigh! Only a year ago and I was there. Thanks for the memories!
    Hugs!

    • Rebecca says:

      Hi Melissa! So crazy to think that a year ago we switched places! I can’t believe it’s only been a year. Have a wonderful Christmas! At least this year you’ll be warm. 🙂

  3. xandreverkes says:

    Hi Becca!!! Great post!!! Will defintely remember to organise train trips rather than flights when I get to Europe again (one day!!!) 😉 Your photos are great… wishing I was in Belgium right now!!! 😀 **

  4. genevieve! says:

    This is awesome! I’m planning on visiting Paris in March/April and am looking for some other places around that I want to see as well. I’ve never been to Belgium so I think I would love that! This post was really nice :). Did you book your train tickets online? I’ve tried to figure out how to do that from Paris-Brussels but I’m thinking it’s too far in advance for the spring…Any tips you have would be helpful!

  5. Sloane says:

    I love the tease at the end, you’re becoming such a little blogger! Keep us all coming back for more the next day! Merry Christmas to you and Scotty. Je veux dire, Joyeux Noel!!

  6. Bethy Manor says:

    -So nice to see this blog of an entirely new city that was so beautifully lit up for Christmas! Your pictures of the chocolates are very tantalizing. Your train travel experience sounds delightful. -Can’t wait till the next blog!

Leave a Reply

