A Year in Review


Since it’s the last day of 2011 and I’m feeling a bit nostalgic, I want to do a blog post on some of the highlights of the past year. And we’re also moving today so I am putting off the packing until the last possible minute. Hate packing. Hate moving. And this is our 3rd move in four months!

Anyway, back to 2011. It was quite the year. Here’s a recap.

We rang in 2011 with our friends Jeff and Stephanie, Katy and Jeremy, Seth and Rachel, and Joe (whose lovely wife Amanda was visiting family in the States). It was a lovely evening complete with homemade tortillas and a fireworks show above Edinburgh Castle.

The next highlight was a trip to London to celebrate my birthday. Scotty and I love this city and it’s always a treat to go visit. We also visited Greenwich and checked out the prime meridian.

Life was quiet for a bit and then we met up with my parents in Italy. We toured the Chianti region with them, stayed in a medieval village, and just enjoyed being together.

The medieval village where we stayed with Mom and Pop

From there Scotty and I headed to Rome! The fulfillment of a life-long dream, I loved this vibrant, energetic city.

After a few weeks and home, I headed to California to spend some time with my dad and little sisters while my mom headed to Portland to help my sister Hilary in the lead-up to the birth of her second son. I flew into San Francisco and hung out with Solomon and Becca and then it was off to SLO. My time with Katie and Tot was a lot of fun – and a bit stressful at times. Those are two busy girls and my life in Scotland is pretty calm…having to drive on California highways puts me on edge!

Pedicures with the little sisters!

And then there came the exciting news that I had a new nephew! Little Brick had made his appearance.  And I was off to Portland to meet the little sweetie.

So fun to all be together.

So fun to hang out with my sister, Hilary, and her two precious boys. Being an aunt is the best!

After nearly three weeks away from Scotty, I was ready to be back with him!

A few weeks later our dear friends Glen and Audrey visited us in Edinburgh. The four of us had such a wonderful time. We have been so blessed by this friendship and it was so fun to be able to show them around our home. We also took a trip to the Isle of Skye! I’ll never forget the night we got the email that told us we’d be moving to Paris in September – we were at the hotel with Glen and Audrey when Scotty opened his email. We quickly went knocking on their door. We were soon toasting and making plans for future trips. That’s what’s great about Glen and Aud – they are truly excited for their friends when good things happen to them! That is a rare and precious quality in friendship.

Scotty, Aud and Glen

Following that adventure, the next weekend found us riding out a Scottish storm with our friends Graham and Nathalie. What an adventure that was!

And two days after that we were meeting up with Scotty’s family in Paris. Bethy and I had a wonderful time checking out the art museums and Scotty and I tried to imagine what it would be like to spend a year here.

After that we had a bit of down time when we both worked a lot, started preparing for our move, and soaked up precious time with friends. We had to say lots of goodbyes to people who had grown to mean quite a lot to us.

In the midst of all this, we marked our 6th anniversary and Scotty’s birthday! We celebrated both with a quick trip to London and then it was back to the States. A week with Scotty’s family in NY, a week with my family in CA, and a few days in St. Louis. The highlight of the trip was the wedding of Josh and Grace!

First dance.

After a whirlwind three week trip, it was back to Edinburgh. We finished packing and, most importantly, Scotty submitted his dissertation.

We said more goodbyes to dear friends and then moved to Paris and settled into our little Ile St. Louis apartment.

And my parents came for a visit and we checked out Normandy and Giverny.

And then we got the wonderful news that Solomon and Becca were engaged! So excited about this!

Aren't they adorable?!?

And we settled into life as students. Scotty went back to the States for two weeks and I kept busy soaking up as much as I could of my new home. And we celebrated Thanksgiving with Scotty’s safe return. Next was a quick trip to Belgium, checking out Brussels and Bruges. And then it was back to Paris for Christmas.

Whew! It’s been quite the year. And on the last day of 2011 we’re moving again. It seems an appropriate way of ending a year that absolutely flew by. I’m curious to see what 2012 brings – I know there will be changes and further moves, more goodbyes. I love this adventure we are living but it does have its challenges. I think we’ve both been feeling that pull to be more settled. It would be nice to know where we were going to live for more than 6-10 months! And we’ve developed a pretty passionate hatred of packing and moving. Additionally, it’s hard to always feel like you’re starting over with friendships. We’ve made some amazing friends over the past few years and it’s sad to say goodbye. Yet, our adventures take us to beautiful new places, and we meet wonderful, interesting people, and our view of the world keeps expanding. For the coming year, I have a few goals, some resolutions. But mostly I’m just trying to stay open to what this year will bring and remember to embrace the change and “lean into the discomfort”, while soaking up the moments of beauty. Happy New Year everyone! And lots of love from me!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Life in Edinburgh, Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Year in Review

  1. Bethy Manor says:

    Hi Becca and Scotty. It was a pretty amazing year for you two, but I think the most nostalgic part was that of saying goodbye to your friendships forged in Edinburgh. Living in Paris isn’t so bad either – the bridges, the quaint streets, the cathedrals, the cafes, the Seine and French classes together – WOW! I can’t wait to return for a visit in May and we’re praying that the Lord has great things in store for you for next year too!

  2. audrey says:

    Wow…what a year!
    I praise God for Scotty’s submission of his dissertation and your willingness, Becca, to make the best of all situations. I look forward to visiting you this year and seeing what the Lord has in store for you in ’12!

  3. Hilary says:

    Great recap of your year! And what a year it was! Loved seeing our Christmas card hanging in your flat.

  4. Pingback: Tilt Shift London | Paris at my doorstep

  5. POP says:

    Wow that was a lot of living.
    Congrats on your achievements.
    Patience learned when needed.
    Great to look back and see how well you were kept.
    Provides greater faith and hope in Him for the new year

  6. Gina Costa says:

    What a great post! I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks for letting us enjoy your travels vicariously this past year. Happy New Year!

  7. Becky says:

    I like to think that we are responsible for the spate of dissertation-handing-in-photos. 😉 Way to keep up the cool new tradition!

Leave a Reply

