Quiet Saturday


Today is a quiet day for us – we both have lots of work to do, applications to work on, projects to invest time in. And we both have our final exams for our French classes next week. So our apartment is feeling cosy, even with the clutter of drying laundry hung on every available surface…including the railing outside our window.

We did celebrate Epiphany in the traditional French way last night. The boulangeries are full of galette de roi, or cake of the king. It’s traditionally served on Epiphany to mark the arrival of the magi in Bethlehem. It’s a lovely almond cake and inside each one is a little surprise. Scotty found it and it was this cute little ceramic turtle. Finding it means that you’re the king for the day and must be responsible for providing the galette next year! And, each cake comes with a crown, so Scotty dutifully wore it…at least for a few minutes.

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quiet Saturday

  1. xandreverkes says:

    Sounds (& looks) super yummy!!!! Good luck with your studies… I have forgotten how to do that… oops!!! 😉 **

    • Rebecca says:

      Thanks so much! After being out of formal classrooms for nearly ten years, I’d also forgotten. It does come back quickly though!
      I am so enjoying reading about your road trip through South Africa.

  2. redjim99 says:

    We’re in England this year so missed out on our galette. In our village in the Auvergne they get together in the Salle to meet and drink and share the cake, prizes and crowns.

    Nice,

    Jim

  3. Bethy Manor says:

    Lovely cake! We wish you well on your French exams!

  4. Judi Tome says:

    Rebecca and Scotty…I just left Scotland with the kids. (We are in Dublin right now) Edinburgh did not fail to excite us and I so appreciate all the help you offered me. The weather was chilly but not as bad as I had prepared for. We only had rain one evening and the wind was brisk, but manageable. Oh boy did we walk a lot in Edinburgh but we saw so much….and Rebecca, I even snapped a photo of a lost glove on a fence railing….which I might have missed entirely if not for your photos and blogs! I should have asked where you lived so that I would have had some reference point when touring around. I can not even say what my favorite spot was…everything is just so incredible. My blog is http://www.travelingcreatively.blogspot.com if you want to take a look.
    I also love re-living Paris through your eyes! You are a wonderful writer!

Leave a Reply

