The random brides of Paris


So I’ve alluded to the mysterious sightings of brides around the city of Paris. During the warm summer months and into the autumn it is common to see little bridal groups of people walking around Paris. There’s usually a bride, one female attendant, two or three photographers, and one incidental groom – if he’s lucky, he’ll also have a friend or attendant. And it’s generally pretty obvious that this is not the groom’s favorite part of the honeymoon.

During our first months here, I saw dozens of these groups. It seems to be a really popular trend to dress up and then walk around Paris (or any other major European city), and have your picture taken in front of famous buildings, monuments, etc. I don’t understand it, but that’s just me. I really don’t understand why anyone would want to pack their wedding dresses and tuxedos, fancy shoes, all that makeup, the veil and lug it halfway around the world. Anyway, while these pictures only represent a tiny fraction of the brides we’ve seen, I thought I’d share.

This bride had Converse All-Stars on under her dress!

I loved this red Chinese wedding dress - so beautiful!

Now that it’s cooled down a bit here in Paris and we no longer live in the touristic center, I’m not seeing quite as many brides. Come spring, I’m sure there will be a lot more and I’ll be better about pulling out the camera and trying to snap a quick pic. I think it’s fascinating – and I love seeing the variety of dress styles. From silly, pink, and frothy, to classic and elegant.

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone! Any fun plans? Scotty and I are going to see what all the fuss is about at the January sales. We need a few tidbits for our apartment like a cafetière and strainer and are going to see if we can save ourselves a very long trip to one of the IKEAs on the outskirts of Paris. Oh, quick question – I don’t have an oven in our new apartment and was wondering if it would be worth it to invest in a cast-iron dutch oven. Would that be a good substitute? Would appreciate advice from someone. Cheers!

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The random brides of Paris

  1. Nathalie says:

    We’re going to the Isle of Bute! fyi in July Printemps had amazing prices on Le Jacquard Francais table linens, they are simply beautiful!

  2. xandreverkes says:

    You’ve got me intrigued….. Would love to see what the red dress looks like up close!!!! 🙂 Sorry, but no knowledge of the cast iron dutch oven 😦 !!! **

    • Rebecca says:

      It is so curious – I would love to upload another picture of the red dress but that’s the best one I got. I’m a bit shy about snapping pictures of strangers….

  3. Becky says:

    Hmmm…I just bought my first dutch oven and am in the process of seasoning it so I don’t have experience yet. When we were in your similar situation, we survived 6 months with a soup pot and a big skillet with a lid on it. With those two things you can do virtually everything but bake cookies. Did I mention that a dutch oven weighs a ton? It would probably cost too much to take it with you, so that’s something else to consider.

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Becky – enjoy your Dutch Oven. I’m jealous. I am getting by alright with a stock pan and a couple frying pans. It’s true I really can cook almost anything with those – and why would I want to bake myself when I’m in the land of boulangeries! 🙂

  4. What a fun thing to document! Can’t wait to see what Spring has in store 🙂

  5. Cindy says:

    My only experience with a cast iron dutch oven were the incredible gourmet meals that were served up on a white water river trip of all things! I loved the picture of the last classic peach wedding gown but would also like to see the Chinese red gown closer! Excellent photography!

  6. Not sure what types of things you are interested in cooking, but a crockpot can substitute for an oven. Some people even bake bread in the crockpot. Plus you can leave them to cook while you’re away. I tend to crockpot at least one meal a week (usually on the weekend) and it makes tons of leftovers, so it’s really economical. You can find some really great crockpot recipes for whatever you like allrecipes.com or on pinterest.

    Hope this helps!

    -Kristen

  7. Melissa says:

    Hi Becca,

    Dutch ovens at thrift stores save a lot of time, as seasoning them takes time and you are supposed to season them in – yes- an oven. Buy and electric skillet with a lid, you can cook most things in them, cookies too! You can also buy small convection ovens that are the size of toaster ovens and they work just like a real oven.!! Dutch ovens make great apple crisp! ( We did that in girl scouts on a camping trip once. Yum!! They are fun to cook with too so experiment. Have fun! Hugs!!
    Mel

    • Rebecca says:

      That’s a great idea Melissa. A friend sent me a seasoning recipe for a dutch oven but I, obviously, can’t season one without an oven. I don’t think there are many thrift stores here in France but I’ll keep an eye out.
      Thanks!

  8. winegums says:

    I love this! Also, thanks for visiting my blog!

  9. Shutter Bug says:

    Hi Rebecca. I really got intrigued by the subject, ‘random brides of Paris’ and you have captured some very interesting images. I’ll look forward to seeing more on this topic from you.

    Thanks for a recent visit to A Traveller’s Tale. Regards — Jessie

    • Rebecca says:

      I am looking forward to reading more of your blog. And also looking forward to spring in Paris when I’m sure there will be all sorts of brides roaming around!

  10. frizztext says:

    brides and IKEA in all big cities around the world!
    P.S.:
    we have one living room with an iron oven, we feed him with wood
    – the other rooms use electricity …
    though the wood fire is romantic it smells,
    some un-healthy smoke in the air

Leave a Reply

