Quiet in Luxembourg


On my last day of class, I took my time walking home, meandering through the Luxembourg Gardens. I love this little patch of calm in the middle of Paris. In the summer it’s packed with people, every chair turned toward the sun, children pushing sailboats in the fountains, tourists snapping pictures. Now it’s much more subdued. Chairs sit empty, there are only a few tourists.

The main activity is the many joggers running along the paths. There are young women, old men, people from the Senat building, groups of policemen in training, fit runners dashing around slow shuffling joggers. At noon the Luxembourg Gardens look like a very fancy school yard in the middle of PE class. It always surprised me because I keep hearing things about how the French don’t run or exercise. Not the story I’m seeing. Anyway, outside of the runners, it’s quiet. And sort of tucked away for winter. Hundreds of those iconic green chairs are neatly stacked and stored away behind a little barrier.

I like how Paris is calm right now – how there isn’t as much going on. It’s nice and a walk through the park is always good for the soul. I even spotted some interesting wildlife.

Apparently animal print is in.

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet in Luxembourg

  1. audrey says:

    Honey – animal print IS IN…even here in STL!
    It was calming to read this article and i enjoyed the chair pix.

  2. redjim99 says:

    France is closed for winter!

    Jim

  3. So funny – “interesting wildlife”! Your post reminds me of the one I wrote on Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir in NY. I know I am going to miss the serenity afforded by places such as Central Park in winter. When summer comes, I know it will be a tough crowd. For now, i am loving the calmness and your post makes me want to visit Paris in winter 🙂

  4. Becky says:

    If that’s French fashion, we’re all doomed!

Leave a Reply

