Back in Edinburgh


I am back in Edinburgh sitting at one of my favorite cafés enjoying a delicious coffee! Yay!  And a cappuccino here costs £2.20, instead of €5.00. It’s been so good to be back, see friends, meet new babies, walk familiar streets, hear English, exhale. I am loving being back. It’s strange to have two countries to return “home” to. It feels really weird. But also good. And a bit unsettling. I can’t help but think about what that means for my ability to really feel fully settled somewhere. Will the US ever feel completely like “home” again? Or will a part of me always remain in Scotland…and maybe even in France? But those are questions I don’t have to answer now, so I’m going to sit back, sip my cappuccino, enjoy my time with friends, and try to get some work done.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Expat Info, Life in Edinburgh, Life in Paris, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Back in Edinburgh

  1. Home is where the heart is…… 🙂 I don’t think that South Africa will ever not feel like home – granted, I’ve never lived abroad…. but the few times that I went over only for a couple weeks, I got suuuuuuuuuuuuuper homesick!!! 🙂 Looks like a yummy cap!!! 🙂 **

  2. Melissa says:

    Home is where Scotty is. You are greatly blessed!
    Hugs,
    Mel

  3. Solomon says:

    Soo happy you are back. Enjoy the time at “home,” it sounds like you really needed it!

  4. redjim99 says:

    Home is, the journey you are taking.

    Jim

  5. Sloane says:

    I agree with you. I think I’ve lost the feeling of going “home” per se. Instead I create a home where I’m living at the moment and still feel ties to all the other places I’ve made roots in. I think there is something beautiful about it.
    Also, that coffee looks delicious!!

  6. Becky says:

    Edinburgh has kept parts of a lot of people I know, you and me included, I think.

Leave a Reply

