Edinburgh


Our trip to Edinburgh was wonderful for so many reasons. It was great to be back in a place that feels like home. It was so good to see friends – friends who know what this whole student expat thing is all about. It was great to speak English. And the reason for our visit, Scotty’s Viva, went really well. After spending the first four days of our visit in nervous anticipation, it was such a relief to know that this goal, three-plus years in the pursuit, was finally attained.

Feeling relieved!

I didn’t take many pictures while I was back in Edinburgh, but here are a few from our friend Stephanie. I really regret not taking more pictures – but I guess we were just enjoying each moment so much, it completely slipped our minds.

A couple of the people who turned out to celebrate.

We had a bunch of celebratory gatherings, including a whiskey tasting with Scotty’s advisors at the Scottish Whiskey Society. I made my way through two drams and cannot say that I like it any better. Stuff is way to strong for me.

There were lunch dates, soup socials (thank you Katy and Jeremy), catching up coffees, lovely dinners at friends homes, and pub gatherings. It felt truly celebratory and just plain good for our souls to be among these people. So, thank you to our hosts Jeff and Stephanie, and all the friends who made time to see us! We miss you all!

And, because I was back in Edinburgh, I had to take a picture of this lost item. I mean, isn’t it just sooo Scottish?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Lost Items, People in Edinburgh and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Edinburgh

  1. Aww, this post warmed my heart! I’m so proud of all that you both have accomplished. Glad that you took time to celebrate!

    On a frivolous note, love Scotty’s coat!!!

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    Love that picture of you and Scotty together after the viva!

Leave a Reply

